ARTH-284: Modernism 2

What is this guide?

Print from La Ville: Cent Bois Gravés by Frans Masereel, 1925.

Welcome!  This libguide was designed specifically for ARTH-284: Modernism 2, The Arts in Europe, 1905-1960, though it may be helpful to any student interested in modern European art history.  These resources range from encyclopedias, to databases, to primary documents located at local cultural institutions.  Instead of being a general overview, this guide should be used as an introduction to the immense field of modern art history.  

Overview

This guide contains web and print resources for students who are studying modern art history history. This includes:

  • shortcuts to cultural institutions which house primary documents, like archives and artworks
  • background information on modern art movements and artist biographies
  • databases to find secondary literature on modern art movements
  • information on finding information from local institutions
  • general citation and writing tools
  • contact information for the art librarian at UNC Chapel Hill

Sloane Art Library

The Joseph Curtis Sloane Art Library is one of the largest art research libraries of the South.  Its extensive collection of more than 100,000 volumes includes art exhibition catalogs, art journals and magazines, art documentaries and art films, illuminated manuscript facsimiles, artists’ books, artists' files, and online resources.  Its staff is knowledgeable in studio art and art history, so stop by during regular hours or contact the staff if you have any research questions.

Encyclopedias & Biographies

Consider reading encyclopedia articles as a starting place to get an overview of modern art in Europe as you develop a good research question. 

Library Catalogs

Use UNC's catalog to find books on your research topic.  Experiment with keyword searches to find the right resources.  If UNC does not have the book you are looking for, you can explore Duke, NC Central, and NC State's collection through the TRLN search, and request those books to be delivered in about 3 business days.  Another option is to do a Worldcat search.

UNC Libraries Catalog

   

Art & Architecture Article Databases

Find Art in Local Collections

Pablo Picasso (1881 – 1973), Spanish, The Man with the Hat (L’homme Au Chapeau), from Du Cubisme, 1914/15 etching on copper, the Ackland Art Museum

Sloane Art Library's Cage Book Collection

A few volumes in Sloane Art Library's cage collection include original prints made by artists, or have historical value.  These volumes are available for view upon request at the art library's viewing table.  To borrow a book, bring the title or the call number to the front desk, and an assistant will pull the book for you, and place it at the viewing table where you can browse it at your leisure.  Below are a few titles pertinent to this course:

Libguide Author Profile

Julie Riegel
Contact:
Sloane Art Library: (919) 962-2397

Writing & Research Guides

Open Access Image Collections

Images in ARTstor with the IAP tag can be used for publishing and educational use, without the need to request additional permissions from contributing museums. More info about the IAP program can be found here: http://www.artstor.org/what-is-artstor/w-html/services-publishing.shtml

  • Last Updated: Nov 18, 2016 4:59 PM
  • URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/ARTH-284