Documentary and educational films. Many of the films were made specifically for teaching - so the database features Study Guides alongside many of the titles and also includes filmmaker biographies, interviews, release notes, etc. Geographic and cultural group browses allow users to highlight sections of a map to find result sets, and searchable transcripts scroll with the films.
The initial release includes approx. 225 films. As with other Alexander Street Press online products, the database will continue to grow and will include more than 1,000 videos and 750 hours when complete. Many of these films were made specifically for teaching - so the database features Study Guides alongside many of the titles and also includes filmmaker biographies, interviews, release notes, etc. Geographic and cultural group browses allow users to highlight sections of a map to find result sets, and searchable transcripts scroll with the films.
The Master Academic Collection digital video archive includes more than 5000 complete videos with approximately 500 new titles added every year. Subject areas include: Humanities & Social Sciences, Science, Business & Economics, and Health. The collections are dynamic - as new programs are added, they will be available to current subscribers automatically. Subscribers are allowed unrestricted, asynchronous, 24/7 access to all video content by authorized faculty, students, and staff from any location.
Subjects include but are not limited to: African Studies, African-American Studies, Agriculture, American Studies, Anthropology, Art, Biology, Business, Communication Studies, Computer Science, Cultural Studies, Drama, Education, Environmental Studies, Literature, Film, Geography, Medicine, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.
Colleges, universities, and other educational institutions can discover, access, license, stream and share amongst their students, faculty and staff, the best documentary and social issues films and videos available.
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
Created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the database indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward.
The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
The full-text version of the index, FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus adds searchable full text from many of the most important FIAF journals including non-English titles.
Film and Television Literature Index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
Researchers can use the images to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. They can use the searchable ASCII text that underlies images of articles and pages to search by keyword, using Boolean operators and more advanced searching techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed bibliographic information for the articles retrieved, including article title, publication, issue date, author, and page number. To see a complete article, a researcher simply clicks on the title in the list and the system displays the image of the full article, "threaded" to include all graphics and continuations on other pages as a single unit. Researchers also can display the complete image of any page in any issue or even browse the database and scan individual issues page by page. The database is available on the Web through ProQuest.