Asking Clinical QuestionsFinding EvidenceCritical AppraisalApplying EvidenceEvaluationCurriculumEducational SeriesWhy Use EBP?EBP Humor
This is the "Home" page of the "EBP Education Center of Excellence" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EBP Education Center of Excellence   Tags: curriculum, evidence based medicine, evidence based practice, librarians, teaching  

Resources for faculty, librarians, students and health care professionals interested in learning about evidence-based practice.
Last Updated: Apr 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/EBP_Education_COE Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How To Use This Guide

The major sections of this site are listed in the Contents box on the left side of every page.  Links to subdivisions of sections also appear on the left.  Tabs at the top also link to sections and subsections.

If you click on a link to an external web site, a second window will open. To return to our web site, close the second window (choose File>Close).

We suggest that you check "What's New" each time you visit this site for the latest updates.

Items added to other sections are flagged with a  icon.  If a resource can be used on a mobile device, it is flagged with a icon.  Some resources are also designated as or  Free Resource.

Please feel free to use the Feedback Tab for suggestions and comments.  Contact information for editors is also provided in each section.

Back to top

 

Introduction

This collection of evidence-based practice (EBP) resources is intended for faculty, librarians, students and health care professionals interested in learning about EBP. Our goal is to make this site your preferred entry point when you wish to learn EBP, teach EBP, find current EBP research, or find key EBP resources.

We extend our appreciation to the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill which currently hosts this site.  We also thank North Carolina Area Health Education Centers (NC AHEC) for hosting the site until we converted to the new LibGuide format. 

NC AHEC librarians and academic librarians who teach formal EBP programs formed a team to create this virtual EBP Education Center of Excellence in 2000. Many of us are still contributing to the project.  Other librarians have provided valuable assistance over the last ten years.  We extend our appreciation to all of our colleagues for their part in keeping this site an essential resource for everyone involved in the practice of evidence based health care. 

 

Description of Contents

What's New

The What's New section highlights major news and developments in evidence-based practice. This section also highlights changes to the web site.

Teaching EBP

The Teaching EBP section contains information to support the teaching of EBP. You will find examples of EBP curriculum, worksheets and information to use with question building, search strategies, and critical appraisal, in addition to CAT databases and EBM calculators.

Workshops

The Workshops section, previously referred to as Learning, provides a list of workshops you can attend to learn the principles and process of EBP. Workshops held in North Carolina are listed first, followed by those in the US and Canada and abroad. 

Tutorials

The Tutorials section, previously found in both the Learning and Teaching sections, are now merged into a section of their own.  They include online courses and tutorials, as well as published collections of articles available for CE credit. 

Research

The Research section serves as a link to recent articles from Medline concerning the teaching and the practice of evidence-based medicine. Click on the Abstract link to read available abstracts.

Resources

The Resources section is designed to provide you with a starting point for your EBP collections.  It contains an annotated list of selected print and electronic resources, including databases, journals and books. Links to publishers' web sites and reviews are also provided, if available.

Back to top

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip