Syllabus
Assignment Resources
Emma Mordecai Diary, 1864-65, Handwritten
Emma Mordecai Diary, 1864-65, Typed
Mordecai Family Papers
Finding Aid for archival materials held in Wilson Library
Background Information
The new encyclopedia of Southern culture / Charles Reagan Wilson, general editor. See Volume 6: Ethnicity, in particular.
Davis Library:
F209 .N47 2006
Encyclopedia of religion in the South / edited by Samuel S. Hill and Charles H. Lippy
Davis Library Reference:
BR535 .E52 2005
Jewish women in America: an historical encyclopedia / edited by Paula E. Hyman and Deborah Dash Moore
Davis Library Reference:
DS115.2 .J49 1998
Encyclopedia of Southern culture / Charles Reagan Wilson and William Ferris, coeditors
Davis Library Reference:
F209 .E53 1989
What is in this guide?
This course page contains assignments and helpful links for American Studies 486: The Jewish Experience in the American South.
Interested in more classes in American Studies or Southern Studies?
American Studies at Carolina
The Department of American Studies offers a major and a minor, both with interdisciplinary approaches that empower students to value the complexity of the US by engaging with a variety of historical, literary, artistic, political, social, and ethnic perspectives.
Concentration in Southern Studies
As an American Studies major, you can complete a concentration in Southern Studies, with requires completion of nine courses that focus on Southern culture.
Center for the Study of the American South
The The Center for the Study of the American South extends the historic role of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as the world’s premier institution for research, teaching, and public dialogue on the history, culture, and contemporary experience of the southern United States. The Center promotes initiatives in the University's tradition of regional service and scholarship.
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is the world’s best-equipped institution to study The American South. Carolina’s scholars and research collections are unparalleled resources for the study of Southern history, folklore, literature, and arts. The University’s social scientists and technical experts offer informed visions for its future. UNC’S institutional resources on the South include the Southern Historical Collection, the Southern Folklife Collection, the Research Laboratories in Archaeology, the Odum Institute for Research in the Social Sciences, southern collections at UNC’s Ackland Museum of Art, and The Center for the Study of the American South (CSAS), which houses the Southern Oral History Program and the award-winning journal Southern Cultures.
UNC catalog search
Acdemic Journal Articles
- America, History and LifeFind links to articles on all aspects of North American history
- Project MuseAccess to articles from several journals that deal with aspects Judaism in America, including the American South
- ATLA Religion Database
- RAMBI: Index of articles on Jewish Studies
- JStor
- Academic Search Complete
Librarian Profile |
Chat requires JavaScript. Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
