FREN 386/CMPL 387 French New Wave Cinema: Finding Articles
Selective Film Journals
NB: These journals are best for browsing individually. Most of the film datebases will index & link to these journals, among many others. For searching the literature on a particular film, e.g., Les 400 Coups, or topic, e.g., French New Wave Cinema, the databases provide far more efficient searching.
Contemporary Film Reviews & Brief Articles
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersSearch hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements; historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included; display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.
- Film Index InternationalA major information resource for entertainment films, directors and key players produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics and current cinema - Film Index International provides international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
- Film review index (2 vols.)Indexes many film reviews current with the films' release. 1882-1985
Davis Service Desk Z5784.M9 F513 1986
Secondary Resources (Film Criticism)
Example of a Scholarly Article (click on PDF Icon for full text)
If you need to find a database for a specific subject (e.g., Art, History, Women's Studies), search E-Research Tools by Subject, and first try the "Recommended Databases." For example, see the E-research Tools for French or Film Studies.
- CAIRNFull-text electronic French journals in French and Francophone Studies as well as general humanities and social sciences journals in French.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals PlusCreated by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the database indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextCovers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and tv reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, as well as pop culture related to film and tv. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity.
Film and Television Literature Index is the new and expanded online version of the print title, Film Literature Index. Those volumes are on Row 17, Davis Reference Department, and cover 1973 to 2004. - JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
- MLA International BibliographyA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
- Articles+Discover information on any topic from the UNC library collections using simple search technology powered by Summon. Use Articles+ to find:
Scholarly journal articles
News articles
Ebook content
Dissertations
Dissertations & Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses
- DART-Europe E-theses PortalDART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. In October 2010, this portal provided access to 177641 full-text research theses from 300 Universities sourced from 19 European countries.
Evaluating Your Sources
- Popular vs. Trade vs. ScholarlyHandy chart from UNC-Chapel Hill University Libraries to help you determine if your resource is from a popular magazine, trade/professional publication or a scholarly journal.
Connect with us
