With objective authority, clarity and wit, it presents the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them. Because of its global editorial perspective, it is read by more of the world's political and business leaders than any other magazine. The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003. New full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
The easy-to-use resource provides readers with a fundamental collection of high-quality primary material, including every leader, special report, letter and every piece of advertising across a wide range of subject areas. Tabular matter forming the Key Economic Indicators section can be exported and manipulated separately.
Combines over 9,000 sources from the Dow Jones Interactive and Reuters Business Briefing to provide premium business content from 118 countries and in 22 languages. Factiva is very strong in trade journals and company reports. Includes:
1,500+ newspapers - same-day and archival coverage of the world's most influential newspapers, including Barrons, The Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, South China Morning Post, Le Monde, Les Echos, The Guardian and New York Times. Factiva also includes local newspapers from every corner of the globe.
3,500+ journals and magazines - access the latest issues of thousands of leading business and industry publications, including The Economist, Finanz & Wirtschaft, Satellite News, Computerworld and Journal of Organizational Analysis
500+ newswires - breaking news from Dow Jones, Reuters and The Associated Press, as well as PR Newswire, M2 Presswire and other regionally focused and industry newswires
230+ broadcast transcripts - from organizations such as BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC and Fox
20,000+ company reports - customized profiles of companies, from around the world
You must view this resource using Internet ExplorerPlease log out of this resource when finished. Please note the time out period for inactive viewing is 10 minutes.
The simultaneous user limit for this resource may result in temporary delays.
LexisNexis Academic is a web-based service that provides access to most of the information formerly available on the LexisNexis Educational Program (approximately 75% of the titles). It covers general, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many of the files are full-text. LexisNexis Academic is a service of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
Researchers can use the images to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. They can use the searchable ASCII text that underlies images of articles and pages to search by keyword, using Boolean operators and more advanced searching techniques. The results list generated by a search includes detailed bibliographic information for the articles retrieved, including article title, publication, issue date, author, and page number. To see a complete article, a researcher simply clicks on the title in the list and the system displays the image of the full article, "threaded" to include all graphics and continuations on other pages as a single unit. Researchers also can display the complete image of any page in any issue or even browse the database and scan individual issues page by page. The database is available on the Web through ProQuest.
The Times, the 'world's newspaper of record,' covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The database enables users to search the full-text of the entire newspaper. The text within the images is also fully searchable at the article level. Users can therefore search news articles, obituaries, advertising and classifieds - virtually everything that appeared in the newspaper. Results are displayed at the article level, and users may view the article or the full page upon which it appeared. A Browse feature allows for searching through a specific issue of the paper via individual page images. Please note that online coverage of the Times after 2006 is available in several sources. See here. .