What is in this guide?
This guide has four section:
Home - This page includes contact and citing information as well as the most relevant databases and full-text projects.
Searching - This page has links to books, articles, and other resources appropriate for scholarly research.
Other Resources - This page provides links to a more general databases, digital sites, catalogs, and projects.
Cinema - This page links to resources for finding and reviewing cinematic works.
Citing
Create citations in the right format using this web form.
Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.
Bibliographic Databases for Medieval & Early Modern Studies
- International Medieval Bibliography This bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c 450-1500) indexes periodicals, books, essay collections, etc.
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Provides indexing of the complete runs of more than 300 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
- MLA International Bibliography/ABELLA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. MLA International Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies. Does not included classical languages.
- English Short Title Catalogue 1473-1800 (ESTC) The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) describes English or English-language letterpress materials published before 1801, including books, lists, advertisements, rules, songs, election propaganda, and other ephemeral items. It contains records for items of all types published in Great Britain or its colonies from 1473-1800.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexFeminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed.
- Monumenta Germaniae HistoricadMGH is a essential collection of sources for medieval history and the outstanding series for the German Middle Ages. In many volumes. Full contents are listed in Repertorium Fontium Historiae Medii Aevi, v.1 ( Davis Reference Z6203.P6).Researchers will want to use the online version in conjunction with the print volumes (Davis Folio DD3.M8)
- Shakespeare World BibliographyThe World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.
Digital Full-Text Projects
- Defining GenderProvides access to a vast body of original source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
- Medieval Travel WritingThis product provides direct access to a widely scattered collection of original medieval manuscripts that describe travel - real and imaginary - in the Middle Ages.
These sources tell us much about the attitudes and preconceptions of people across Europe in the medieval period, shedding light on issues of race, economics, trade, militarism, politics, literature and science. - Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers 1500-1700Complete facsimile images of over 230 manuscripts written or compiled by women living in the British Isles from 1500-1700. Contents include account books, advice, meditations, receipts, travel writing, and verse. Perdita manuscripts can be searched by name, genre, and first lines of both poetry and prose.
West European Librarian |
Chat requires JavaScript. Links: Profile & Guides |
Davis Chat
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.



Loading...
