This is the "Home" page of the "HIST 490 Nazi Society: Spectacle and Terror " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 490 Nazi Society: Spectacle and Terror  

Last Updated: Jan 2, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/HIST490Nazi Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is in this guide?

(Image may be subject to copyright)

\This guide is designed for History 262 and should enable the user to locate primary and secondary reources related to the destruction of the European Jews. The guide is divided into four sections:

1) Home - Provides Links to the subject specialists for this area and major databases of testimonies, phographs and other primary material.

2) Search UNC - Provides search boxes for the library catalog, Articles+, and Google Scholar.

3) Film & Cinema - Provides links that will allow the user to locate films and reviews.

4) News - Provides link to major news outlets that provide coverage of the period.

 

 

Additional Academic Holocaust Resources

Harold Marcuse, UC Santa Barbara

Scroll down to view his Holocaust coursepages

Robert Moeller, UC Irvine

Explore this course site, particularly the weblinks tab

Edith Shaked, Pima Community College, Tucson, Arizona

Scroll down to see WEBiliographies including good links to H-Holocaust, Simon Wiesenthal Center, Nitzkor Project, etc. 

A Teachers’ Guide to the Holocaust

This site provides excellent resources to the documentation of the Holocaust in many formats and genres 

Filmography of Genocide and Crimes against Humanity

Compiled by Adam Jones, Ph.D. (last update 2008), this site accompanies Jones’ Genocide: A Comprehensive Introduction (Routledge, 2006)

Randall Bytwerk, Calvin College, Grand Rapids, MI German Propaganda Archive

Nazi Propaganda: 1933-1945 will be of particular interest. An analysis of some of this material will be found in his Bending Spines: The Propagandas of Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic (Michigan State University Press, 2004)

 

Library Databases

  • Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive Project
    The Visual History Archive contains almost 52,000 videotaped interviews of Holocaust survivors, rescuers, and witnesses from 32 countries gathered by the Shoah Foundation between 1994 and 2005. The USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education was established by Steven Spielberg, originally as a private foundation, after he completed the film Schindler's List.
  • Testaments to the Holocaust
    The more than 100,000 images in 'Testaments to the Holocaust' come from the Wiener Library in London, the world's oldest Holocaust memorial institution. Items are arranged in five categories: over 1,200 eyewitness accounts, about 4,000 photographs, over 400 Nazi propaganda materials, various Wiener Library publications from the 1930s to the 1960s, and the library's biographical index cards. Also included is an introduction by Ben Barkow and two essays on the Holocaust by Nikolaus Wachsmann and Dan Stone.
  • Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile, and Resettlement, 1945-1950
    This unique archive covers the international politics leading the administration, care, repatriation, and emigration of the Displaced Persons (DPs) as well as the plight of the survivors, both Jews and non-Jews, of the Holocaust and World War Two, and their reintroduction to life and community.
  • Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954
    The collection is based on original manuscript collections from the holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. Covers a wide range of topics including immigration and settlement, the development of Jewish schools and charitable institutions; commerce and finance; the development of differing movements of Judaism in America; American Jewish involvement in the Spanish-American War, World War I and World War II, and in Civil Rights and Minority Rights issues.
  • Index to Jewish Periodicals
    Index to Jewish Periodicals covers over 220 journals which focus on the study of Jewish affairs and Judaism around the world. Many of the journals are not indexed in any other database.The print file (1963 - 2008), is in Davis Library Reference.
  • RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
    RAMBI is a selective bibliography of scholarly articles published in journals and as part of collections of articles covering Jewish studies and Israel. The writings may be in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages, are published worldwide, and mostly reflect the holdings of Jewish National and University Library in Jerusalem.

Testimony Resources

  • Deutsches Historisches Museum - LeMO
    LeMO (Living Museum Online) documents German history from the founding of the German Empire in the 19th Century to the present. The offering combines informative text with museum objects, films and sound recordings and provides a comprehensive picture of history. German language only.
  • European Holocaust Research Infrastructure
    On the 16th of November 2010 the project called EHRI, the European Holocaust Research Infrastructure, was launched in Brussels. This project is financed by the European Union and will take four years to complete. EHRI's main objective is to support the Holocaust research community by opening up a portal that will give online access to dispersed sources relating to the Holocaust, and by encouraging collaborative research through the development of tools. To achieve this by 2014 twenty organizations - research institutions, libraries, archives, museums and memorial sites - from thirteen countries will work together in a consortium.
  • German Historical Institute, Washington DC
    German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery.
  • National Holocaust Memorial Museum
    The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum is America’s national institution for the documentation, study, and interpretation of Holocaust history, and serves as this country’s memorial to the millions of people murdered during the Holocaust.
  • Archival Guide to Collections
    The archival resources of the National Holocaust Memorial Museum are essential to scholarly work.
  • Jewish Virtual Library
    The American-Israeli Cooperative Enterprise (AICE) was established in 1993 as a nonprofit 501(c)(3), nonpartisan organization to strengthen the U.S.-Israel relationship by emphasizing the fundamentals of the alliance — the values our nations share.
  • National Center for Jewish Films
    The National Center for Jewish Film is a unique, independent nonprofit archive, distributor, resource center and exhibitor, NCJF's ongoing mission is the collection, preservation and exhibition of films with artistic and educational value relevant to the Jewish experience.
  • Yivo Institute for Jewish Research. "People of a Thousand Towns:" The Online Catalog of Photographs of Jewish Life in Prewar Eastern Europe.
    The photographs in People of a Thousand Towns constitute a visual record of thousands of pre-World War II Jewish communities in Poland, Lithuania, Russia, Ukraine, Latvia, Estonia, Romania, Hungary, and Czechoslovakia. They span the late 19th century to the early 1940s and in some cases, the pictures in the YIVO Archives are the only known photographic traces of communities later eliminated by the Nazis.

West European Librarian & GRAS Section Head

Librarian

Profile Image
Robert Dalton
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
Davis Library Research & Instructional Services
(919) 962-2094
Send Email
 

Citing

Citing Information Tutorial

citation builder icon

Create citations in the right format using this web form.

refworks icon

Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip