There is a known problem with the Find@UNC button on Google Scholar until Thursday, November 27th. See workaround
New to HSL? Quick Tips
How we can help
We at the Health Sciences Library (HSL) welcome our new and returning users.
What we can do (and more):
- Help you find and retrieve the information you need. Whether it's for your first class paper or a systematic review for publication, we have librarians who can work with you.
- Get you virtually any article, chapter, or book that UNC does not own through InterLibrary Loan.
- Provide online bookable study rooms that you can reserve!
- Provide class and conference rooms available for instructors.
- Provide equipment to make your group meetings go smoother, like cables to connect your Mac to the TVs, dry-erase markers, laptops, headphones, and monitors to provide a second screen so you can work more efficiently.
Where you can get help:
- In person at the front desk of the HSL (be sure to check our hours)
- Online through Chat or Email (AskLib.hsl.unc.edu)
- Over the phone (919-962-0800)
- Schedule a one-on-one consultation (AskLib.hsl.unc.edu, use the email form)
- Take a class to learn more about RefWorks or Endnote
- Use a guide. There are nearly 150 guides covering more than 30 topics!
Be sure to meet your librarian so you know who to contact if you need program or subject specific help
Read why other people say they appreciate the HSL at: and if you have any feedback for us you can leave it there as well!
Where can I print nearby?
- Black & White: HSL in the first floor copy room, Berryhill (1st floor lounge), Carrington Hall (Room 205), Rosenau Hall (Room 201), Tate-Turner-Kuralt (Room 501), Global Education Center (Coffee shop). For an up-to-date listing of the locations see this map provided by ITS
- Color: HSL in the first floor copy room
How can I print?
- Use the computers in the HSL.
- Use your laptop after installing the CCI Printers on your laptop (Be sure to install the regular and color drivers. If you have problems, see the Campus IT's help page or come by the front desk. You cannot be connected to the UNC Guest Wireless network and send jobs to the CCI printers. If you are unsure of how to connect to the other networks, see the next section on setting up your Wireless.
- Send the print job to the CCI printer (color or black and white), go to the print room, go to the printer you sent it to (color or black and white), enter Onyen and password, swipe your OneCard, and print the job you sent.
Keep in mind
Print jobs are deleted after an hour
There may be a 5 to 15 minute delay in seeing your job at the print stations during peak hours
Be sure to enter your Onyen as your "name" when sending the print job not your literal name.
How much does printing cost?
10¢ per page for black & white and 30¢ for color. You should have a $40 allotment already on your OneCard to spend on printing every semester.
How about printing posters? Where do I do that?
You have several options available to you. You can use:
How can I connect my laptop to the wireless network?
For detailed information, see the Campus IT's webpage on connecting to the UNC Network
You should see at least four wireless networks: UNC-Secure, UNC-Setup, UNC-PSK, and UNC-Guest.
UNC-Secure is the preferred network for you to use. To connect to this, first connect to UNC-Setup and go to the website uncsecure.unc.edu. Walk through those steps and then you will be able to connect to UNC-Secure.
You will have to go through these steps each time you change the password to your onyen.
UNC-Guest is available to any person on UNC's campus regardless if they go to school or work here. If you use UNC-Guest, you may have problems using the electronic journals and database that the library subscribes to and will not be able to send print jobs to the CCI printers.
Finding books and articles
What sort of books, articles and databases can I access? And how do I access them?
To get best results, you should always go through the HSL's home page to access resources.
When you are off-campus or if you're connected to the UNC Guest wireless network, if you go through the HSL's page to access a database like PubMed, you will need to enter your Onyen and password. Once you've done this, you will be able to freely access our subscription resources.
We subscribe to quite a few databases which may prove helpful or essential for you. Here are a group of the most important databases that are used throughout the various Health Science departments. This page is accessible on the top menu of our website as well as in the main search box.
Subject specific guides created by HSL librarians provide links to relevant journals/database/etc tailored to meet the needs of departments, schools and clinical specialities. Need to know: how to use RefWorks, what journals are pertinent to Clinical Laboratory Science, how to find reputable consumer health information? There is a guide for you!
If you can't find the information you need, do not hesitate to ask us.
How do I find if you have a book?
Search our catalog from our home page!
If it's located at another library, you can have it sent over to the HSL by clicking on the truck icon beside the book you're interested in. It ought to arrive in a few business days and you will receive an email message when it is ready for pickup.
HSL books are in the basement (pre-1990) and on the 3rd floor (1990 and newer). Journals are in the basement (pre-1990) and on the 4th floor (1990 and newer). Audio-visual materials are on the first floor. Come to the front desk and have your badge or OneCard handy to be able to check the item(s) out.
How do I find if you have an article?
The E-Journals tab in the middle of the front page lets you search for a journal by title. Helpful if you already know when the article was published by year, volume and page.
PubMed's citation matcher can help when you only know some of the information about the article. Do not use too much information on the citation matcher. Usually author, title words, journal and year are sufficient.
What if you do not have the book or article?
Request it through InterLibrary Loan.
The first time you use ILL, you will have to fill in some contact information which will break the auto-filling of a citation from PubMed, so you may want to go ahead and register now as it'll make the process easier down the road.
If you're looking for an article and using PubMed, when you click on the blue Find@UNC box (that you'll see if you go through the HSL's website) and cannot find the article (here's an example), you click on the link with the title "Step 2: Request it from another library via Interlibrary Loan" and the full citation will be imported to your ILL request. Makes sending the request a breeze.
You can always enter in the citation information for the article or book by hand to make your request.
Articles generally get delivered electronically in 2-3 business days at no cost to you.
Books generally get delivered physically to the front desk where you can pick it up from in 2-7 business days at no cost to you.
Managing your research
As soon as you start gathering information think about how you are going to manage it. The HSL provides guides, consultations, and intermitant classes on RefWorks, Endnote, Mendeley, and Zotero. All of which can be used to manage your research and form proper citations in your papers.
Where are things in the library?
Where is everything?
For a general introduction to our spaces with a special focus on where are good places to study, see our study spaces page!
- 1st floor (Macs, ADA computer, and scanning stations)
- 3rd & 4th floor curved tables in front of the elevators
- Laptops are available for use in the building at the front desk on the first floor
Study Rooms (all on the MacNider side)
- 1st floor (these can be reserved)
- 2nd floor
- 3rd floor
- 4th floor
Books & Journals
- Basement: Pre-1990 books and journals
- 1st floor: Audio-visual materials, reserves, reference
- 3rd floor: 1990 and newer books
- 4th floor: 1990 and newer journals
- 5th floor: Special collections (make an appointment)
Where do I get the software that I need?
- See this list for locations where software is installed locally
- Also check out the two virtual lab options that UNC provides: vcl.unc.edu and virtuallab.unc.edu (we have a guide on the relative merits of each option).
What are my food options around the HSL?
Keep in mind our food policy which basically means be respectful, do not have messy foods, and have lids on your containers.
- The Friends' Cafe on the first floor of the library (Columbia Street side) has coffee, snacks and sandwiches. Be sure to check out their hours.
- Raynor Food Center, inner courtyard of the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Dentistry
- Atrium Cafe, first floor School of Public Health
- Global Cup Cafe, first floor Global Education Center
- Beach Cafe, first floor in Brinkhous-Bullitt
- Tar Heal Cafe, second floor in Thurston Bowles