A Collection of Reusable Boxes (HSL): Commonly Used Boxes

  Check our FAQ's

   Email us

 Chat with us (during business hours)

   Call (919) 962-0800

   Make an appointment with a librarian

  Request a systematic or scoping review consultation

Ready to start a systematic review? HSL Librarians can help!

Email us a question.

Request an appointment.

We are here to help!

Email or Chat

FAQs

One-on-One Consultation

Classes
Phone (919) 962-0800
Text/SMS (919) 584-5931

Click on the button in database results to:

• Go directly to most online articles
• Export article citations to Endnote or to formats for other reference managers
• Use Google Scholar or the Google Scholar Button browser add-in to find free full text.
• Search the UNC-CH Library Catalog to find the print journal
• Send an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if the journal is not owned by UNC-CH

Onyen passwords for access to library resources need to be changed every year. 

• Look up your PID number (needed to create an Onyen)
• Create an Onyen  or manage your Onyen password

Questions / problems? Ask a Librarian

On Campus Access: Electronic resources are accessible on-campus. Faculty, students and staff must register personal laptops and mobile devices with UNC-Chapel Hill ITS.

UNC Hospitals Access: Always use links from Library websites. Onyen log-in is required when you first select the resource. Note: UpToDate is available within EPIC.

Off Campus Access: Always use links from Library websites. Onyen log-in is required when you first select the resource. Most electronic resources are accessible off-campus to students, faculty, and staff, including UNC Hospitals' staff.

Learn about off-campus access IDs.

Report an off-campus access or hospital access problem.

All campus databases

• browse by title
• browse by subject
• search by database name

You can find guidelines by searching for part of your topic (usually a specific disease, condition, or intervention) through the sources below.

Check guideline-producing sites & organizations.

Check databases by searching for part of your topic and selecting "Guideline" or "Practice Guideline" from the Publication Type or Article Type filter.

Check the websites of trusted professional organizations (See the list of examples)

• Search the web for part of your topic and the words "practice guideline" or "clinical guideline"
• Go to an organization's website and search on their site for guidelines they have posted

• AccessAnesthesiology
• AccessCardiology
• Access Emergency Medicine
• AccessHemOnc
• AccessMedicine
• AccessMedicine: John Murtagh’s General Practice Collection
• AccessMedicine: Sports Medicine Collection
• AccessNeurology
• AccessObGyn
• AccessPediatrics
• AccessPhysiotherapy
• AccessPhysiotherapy Clinical: F.A. Davis PT Collection
• AccessSurgery
• PsychiatryOnline
• Red Book Online (AAP)
• STAT!Ref
• Up to Date
• VisualDX

EndNote is bibliographic management software you purchase and load on your computer. Students can purchase EndNote at a discount through the Student Acquisition Ordering Portal. Faculty and Staff can purchase EndNote at a discount with departmental funds (if available) through ITS Software Acquisition in Connect Carolina.

• EndNote (tips, working with X9 and EN20)
• Adding References to EndNote
• EndNote Class Schedule
• Request EndNote Help

Please note: these citations are auto-generated and the data may not be formatted correctly for your citation style

See example AMA and APA formatting:

An ORCID iD is a unique digital identifier that definitively ties your scholarly work to you, and can help increase recognition of your research.

 Create your ORCID iD & connect it with UNC. It's free and only takes a minute to register and connect.  

• Use your ORCID iD in manuscript submissions, grant applications, and more. 
• Increase visibility of your research by adding your ORCID iD to your website, email signature, and publications.

More about ORCID @ UNC

• Citation Managers
• Mobile Health Apps
• Interlibrary Loan
• Request a New Purchase
• Register for a Class at HSL
• Off-Campus Access
• Onyen management
• Ask a Librarian

Search the Libraries' Catalog

Search the Libraries' Catalog

HSL books published after 1990 are on the 3rd floor. Those published pre-1990 are in the basement. Note: Due to construction in the library, please ask about the current location of books at the ground floor information desk.

You can request that books located at other campus libraries be sent to HSL at no charge.

Borrowing
Online renewal
Request a new purchase

In the Library:

• Search the Libraries' Catalog to find a journal.
• Journals in HSL are arranged alphabetically by title.
• Journal volumes published after 1990 are on the 4th floor in the HSL; older volumes are in the basement.

Outside the Library:

• Use Interlibrary Loan Services to get any article from a print journal emailed to you whether HSL owns it or does not.

Search the Libraries' Catalog

HSL DVDs and videos are on the 1st floor near the Reference section.

Find more at the Media & Design Center in the Undergraduate Library.

Borrowing
Online Renewal

What is a Land Acknowledgement?

"A Land Acknowledgement is a formal statement that recognizes the unique and enduring relationship that exists between Indigenous Peoples and their traditional territories. 

To recognize the land is an expression of gratitude and appreciation to those whose territory you reside on, and a way of honouring the Indigenous people who have been living and working on the land from time immemorial. It is important to understand the long standing history that has brought you to reside on the land, and to seek to understand your place within that history. Land acknowledgements do not exist in a past tense, or historical context: colonialism is a current ongoing process, and we need to build our mindfulness of our present participation. It is also worth noting that acknowledging the land is Indigenous protocol."

Know the Land Territories Campaign, LSPIRG.org, 2021 

• What are some of the privileges settlers enjoy today because of colonialism?
• How can individuals develop relationships with peoples whose territory they are living on in the contemporary geopolitical landscape?
• What are you, or your organization, doing beyond acknowledging the territory where you live, work, or hold your events?
• What might you be doing that perpetuates settler colonial futurity rather than considering alternative ways forward?
• Do you have an understanding of the on-going violence and the trauma that is part of the structure of colonialism?

Native Land Digital, 2021

Why should I incorporate a Land Acknowledgement?

• "Offer recognition and respect.
• Counter the “doctrine of discovery” with the true story of the people who were already here.
• Create a broader public awareness of the history that has led to this moment.
• Begin to repair relationships with Native communities and with the land.
• Support larger truth-telling and reconciliation efforts.
• Remind people that colonization is an ongoing process, with Native lands still occupied due to deceptive and broken treaties.
• Take a cue from Indigenous protocol, opening up space with reverence and respect.
• Inspire ongoing action and relationship."

-the Honor Native Land guide, US Department of Arts and Culture, 2021

How do I write a Land Acknowledgement?

•  "Start with self-reflection. Before starting work on your land acknowledgment statement, reflect on the process: Why am I doing this land acknowledgment? (If you’re hoping to inspire others to take action to support Indigenous communities, you’re on the right track. If you’re delivering a land acknowledgment out of guilt or because everyone else is doing it, more self-reflection is in order.) What is my end goal? (What do you hope listeners will do after hearing the acknowledgment?) When will I have the largest impact? (Think about your timing and audience, specifically.)
• Do your homework. Put in the time necessary to research the following topics: The Indigenous people to whom the land belongs. The history of the land and any related treaties. Names of living Indigenous people from these communities. If you’re presenting on behalf of your work in a certain field, highlight Indigenous people who currently work in that field. Indigenous place names and language. Correct pronunciation for the names of the Tribes, places, and individuals that you’re including.
• Use appropriate language. Don’t sugarcoat the past. Use terms like genocide, ethnic cleansing, stolen land, and forced removal to reflect actions taken by colonizers.
• Use past, present, and future tenses. Indigenous people are still here, and they’re thriving. Don’t treat them as a relic of the past.
• Land acknowledgments shouldn’t be grim. They should function as living celebrations of Indigenous communities. Ask yourself, “How am I leaving Indigenous people in a stronger, more empowered place because of this land acknowledgment?” Focus on the positivity of who Indigenous people are today."

- A guide to Indigenous land acknowledgment, Native Governance Center, 2020

What can I use as a Land Acknowledgement for UNC?

 The Commission on History, Race and a Way Forward is in the process of developing a land acknowledgement for UNC Chapel Hill.  Here are some examples of Land Acknowledgements used in North Carolina.

"The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill occupies the ancestral land of the Shakori, Eno, Tuscarora, and Lumbee peoples and remains home today to the Occaneechi Band of the Saponi Nation. The University was funded in its early years from the sale of lands home to the Cherokee and Chicasaw nations.

Additionally, the foundations of this university were largely built on the sale and labor of enslaved and marginalized people.

We invite you to join us in acknowledging this legacy and in committing to addressing our shared responsibility toward reconciliation, decolonization, and justice."

-Adapted from the UNC CITAP Land Acknowledgement

"We acknowledge that the land we are gathered on has long served as the site of meeting and exchange amongst a number of Indigenous peoples, specifically the Keyauwee and Saura.

Additionally, North Carolina has been home to many Indigenous peoples at various points in time, including the tribes of: Bear River/Bay River, Cape Fear, Catawba, Chowanoke, Coree/Coranine, Creek, Croatan, Eno, Hatteras, Keyauwee, Machapunga, Moratoc, Natchez, Neusiok, Pamlico, Shakori, Sara/Cheraw, Sissipahaw, Sugeree, Wateree, Weapemeoc, Woccon, Yadkin, and Yeopim.

Today, North Carolina recognizes 8 tribes: Coharie, Lumbee, Meherrin, Occaneechi Saponi, Haliwa Saponi, Waccamaw Siouan, Sappony, and the Eastern Band of Cherokee.

We honor and respect the diverse Indigenous peoples connected to this territory on which we gather."

-Land Acknowledgement, UNC Greensboro Libraries, 2018

“The land that North Carolina State University sits on is land that was originally stewarded by two Indigenous tribes: the Tuscarora and the Catawba tribes. We honor these tribes today by recognizing that this institution of higher education is built on land stolen from those who were here before the colonizers arrived.

Additionally, this land has borne witness to over 400 years of the enslavement, torture, and systematic mistreatment of African people and their descendants.

We must acknowledge the history of the spaces and places we occupy to both understand and unlearn the many ways that we have been socialized.”

-NC State University, 2020

"The Center for Multicultural Affairs acknowledges that the land our center and the greater university occupies are the ancestral lands of the Shakori, Eno and Tuscarora people.

Today, North Carolina recognizes 8 tribes: Coharie, Lumbee, Meherrin, Occaneechi Saponi, Haliwa Saponi, Waccamaw Siouan, Sappony, and the Eastern Band of Cherokee. We recognize those peoples for whom these were ancestral lands as well as the many Indigenous people who live and work in the region today."

-Land Acknowledgement, Center for Multicultural Affairs, Duke University, 2021

More information:

• NC Indigenous tribe pronunciation guide - Center for Multicultural Affairs, Duke University, 2021
• Territory Maps- Native Land Digital, 2021 or Whose Land, 2021
•  'I regret it': Hayden King on writing Ryerson University's territorial acknowledgement - CBC Radio, 2019
•  Beyond territorial acknowledgments - âpihtawikosisân.com, 2016
• Duke Forest Land Acknowledgement - Duke Forest Research & Teaching Laboratory, 2020

Got a question about systematic review automation?

Ready to start using tools in your review?

HSL Librarians can help!

Email us a question.

Request an appointment.

Ready to start a systematic review? HSL Librarians can help!

Fill out the Systematic Review Request Form and the best-suited librarian will get back to you promptly. Our systematic review service is only available to faculty, staff, students, and others who are affiliated with UNC Chapel Hill.