AAAD 333: Race and Public Policy in the United States (Williams): Primary Sources
What is a primary source?
- Primary sources can be documents, artifacts or recordings.
- There are many examples of primary sources including correspondence that are available to you through the University Libraries, particularly Wilson Library.
The Southern Historical Collection at the Wilson Library
ABOUT THE SOUTHERN HISTORICAL COLLECTION
Scope
Long at the center of inquiry into the history and culture of the American South, the Southern Historical Collection (SHC) is a vast collection of distinct archival collections. These collections are comprised of unique primary documents, such as diaries, journals, letters, correspondence, photographs, maps, drawings, ledgers, oral histories, moving images, albums, scrapbooks, and literary manuscripts.
Long at the center of inquiry into the history and culture of the American South, the Southern Historical Collection (SHC) is a vast collection of distinct archival collections. These collections are comprised of unique primary documents, such as diaries, journals, letters, correspondence, photographs, maps, drawings, ledgers, oral histories, moving images, albums, scrapbooks, and literary manuscripts.
Access
The SHC is open for research in the Wilson Library on the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill campus. Materials in the SHC are non-circulating.
Researchers mush register to use SHC materials, but no appointment is necessary. Please bring picture identification.
For more information, please contact us at:
Southern Historical Collection
CB# 3926, Wilson Library
Univ of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27515-8890
Telephone: 919-962-1345
FAX: 919-962-4452
Inquiry Form: http://www2.lib.unc.edu/mss/mailref.html
Newspapers
- America's Historical NewspapersAmerica's Historical Newspapers, 1690 to the 1920s, provides access to hundreds of thousands of newspaper issues from about 2000 newspapers from Colonial America to the Roaring Twenties. The papers were published in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
- LexisNexis Academic (Please see Nexis Uni)LexisNexis Academic has been discontinued and the content moved to Nexis Uni.
Connect with us
