Chinese Cultural Revolution Resources: Books and Articles
Books
- Ten Years of Madness : Oral Histories of China's Cultural Revolution byCall Number: Davis Library or Undergrad Library: DS778.7 .T44 1996ISBN: 083512584X
- National Past-times: Narrative, Representation, and Power in Modern China byCall Number: Davis Library: DS777.6.A43 1997ISBN: 0822319616
- Picturing Power in the People's Republic of China : Posters of the Cultural Revolution byCall Number: Davis Library - DS778.7 .P535 1999ISBN: 0847695107
Relevant English Databases
Off-campus access to some resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.
More databases can also be found at East Asian Studies.
- Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1980From the British National Archives, this digital collection consists of British Foreign Office (FO) files covering the period 1949-1980. It addresses a crucial period in Chinese history, from the foundation of the Peoples Republic in 1949, to the death of Zhou Enlai and Mao Zedong, the arrest of the Gang of Four, and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976.
These files, combining eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses with a synthesis of newspaper articles and conference reports, allow scholars and researchers the opportunity to examine developments in China and to assess US, Soviet, British, European and Commonwealth relations with China (including Hong Kong and Taiwan), from 1949 onwards. - Country Studies/Area Handbooks (Library of Congress)Contains the online versions of books previously published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals PlusCreated by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the database indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
- Sunday Times (London) Digital ArchivePublished since 1822, a rich complement to the Times (London) Digital Archive.
Relevant Chinese Databases
Off-campus access to some resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.
More databases can also be found at East Asian Studies.
- China Statistical Database (中国国家统计数据库)Produced by the 中华人民共和国国家统计局 (National Bureau of Statistics of China). It provides extensive national statistical data from mid-1990s to present. Though dataset coverage varies, national, provincial, county, and city level data can be accessed by year, quarter and month. Information on China's statistical standards, classifications and methods, laws and regulations are included on the website, as are built-in data visualization tools for analyzing the statistics.
Note: For best user experience, please use IE9 or above. Users can view datasets online, but an account sign up is required for downloading data. - China Academic Journals (中国学术期刊)CAJ is the most comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in the world covering all subjects. As of 2015 this database provides access to nearly 10K academic journals with a total article count >50M.
Note: This resource is best used with Internet Explorer.
We have full PDF access to the Social Sciences and Humanities series. Articles in the CNKI databases are in PDF format. You will need a current version of Adobe Reader. - Chinese Cultural Revolution Database (中国文化大革命文库)The most comprehensive source covering primary sources on the Chinese Cultural Revolution. The database contains more than 10,000 Central Party documents, Communist party leaders' speeches, official newspaper articles from the early 1960s to the late 1970s, selections of some of the key Red Guard texts, and hard-to-reach archives that often buried within diverse Chinese newspapers many of which are not publicly available The database is updated annually.
- Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (台灣電子期刊服務網)TEPS provides full text access to more than 900 academic journals published in Taiwan from 1991 to the present. It covers disciplines in humanities, social science, natural science, applied science, medical & life science.
UNC catalog search
Searchable using Chinese as well as a romanized script for Chinese resources. All the computers in Davis Library are able to input Chinese scripts.
Suggested subject Headings
Access Information
On Campus Access: Electronic resources are accessible on-campus. Faculty, students and staff must register personal laptops and mobile devices with UNC-Chapel Hill ITS.
UNC Hospitals Access: Always use links from Library websites. Onyen log-in is required when you first select the resource. Note: UpToDate is available within EPIC.
Off Campus Access: Always use links from Library websites. Onyen log-in is required when you first select the resource. Most electronic resources are accessible off-campus to students, faculty, and staff, including UNC Hospitals' staff.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Google Book Search
Other Free E-Journals
Taiwan
- 國立臺灣師範大學機構典藏National Taiwan Normal University Institutional Dispository
- National Taiwan University Journal Database
- 臺灣語言學期刊 Taiwan Journal of Linguistics
East Asian Gateway Services
In US, you can use Gateway Services, a free delivery service for full-text Chinese language academic publications held by libraries in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Japan. Use the following indexes for articles:
More Help
Citing
