Guide to German Studies : Books and eBooks

For books not at UNC you can borrow them through the Interlibrary Loan Service.

Interlibrary borrowing is a service that provides you with materials that are not available from the UNC Libraries - either copies of articles and book chapters, or loans such as, books, microfilm, media, etc.

More Key Catalogs

• Center for Research Libraries

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. 

• TRLN

Triangle Research Libraries Network

• Duke University
• World Cat

WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

• Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog

The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog (KVK) is a meta search interface which allows you to access library and book trade catalogs online via Internet. This is a great tool for searching many German and European libraries at once. 

• World Digital Library

The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.

• Ariadne  Dokumente Online - Austrian National Library

Literature by women and documents on women's history.

• Kalliope Verbundkatalog

Founded by the Berlin State Library, Kalliope is a catalog for collections of personal papers, manuscripts, and publishers' archives.

• Encyclopedia of Romantic Nationalism in Europe 

Contains analytical articles on themes and persons, as well as historical documentation (letters, writings, images, music etc.), tracing and visualizing the transnational rise of national culture-building in 19th-century Europe. 

• Literaturkritik.de: Rezensionsforum für Literatur und für Kulturwissenschaft 

A free monthly publication that provides full-text online access to academic reviews of thousands of new releases on literary and cultural topics. 

• New Books in German
• Text + Kritik - Zeitschrift für Literatur

• Encyclopedia of German Literature

Designed to provide English readers of German literature the opportunity to familiarize themselves with both the established canon and newly emerging literatures that reflect the concerns of women and ethnic minorities, the encyclopedia includes entries on writers, individual works, and topics essential to an understanding of this rich literary tradition.

• The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
• A Dictionary of Critical Theory