African American Film: A Research Guide: Home

Getting started

Welcome to the Stone Center Library's research guide to African American Film! Here you will find a variety of resources related to the study of blacks in American cinema.

TIP: Check the availability of a book or a journal's years of coverage by following the designated hyperlink following the entry. If a resource is found only in a reference collection, there will be no hyperlink to follow, as this material is for library use only and cannot be checked out.

Image credit: http://www.goedkope-online.nl/film/

History

Bogle, Donald. Toms, Coons, Mulattoes, Mammies, and Bucks : An Interpretive History of Blacks in American Films. 4th ed. New York: Continuum, 2001.
Stone Center Library, Davis, House Undergraduate, PN1995.9.N4 B6 2001
check availability in the catalog

Cripps, Thomas. Making Movies Black : The Hollywood Message Movie from World War II to the Civil Rights Era. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993.
Davis, House Undergraduate, PN1995.9.N4 C687 1993
check availability in the catalog

---. Slow Fade to Black : The Negro in American Film, 1900-1942. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 1993.
Stone Center Library, Davis, House Undergraduate, PN1995.9.N4 C7 1993
check availability in the catalog

Guerrero, Ed. Framing Blackness : The African American Image in Film. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 1993.
Stone Center Library, Davis, House Undergraduate, PN1995.9.N4 G84 1993
check availability in the catalog

Klotman, Phyllis Rauch, and Janet K. Cutler. Struggles for Representation : African American Documentary Film and Video. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1999.
Stone Center Library, Davis, House Undergraduate, PN1995.9.N4 S77 1999
check availability in the catalog

Leab, Daniel J. From Sambo to Superspade : The Black Experience in Motion Pictures. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1975.
Davis, House Undergraduate, PN1995.9.N4 L4
check availability in the catalog

Richards, Larry. African American Films through 1959 : A Comprehensive, Illustrated Filmography. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1998.
Stone Center Library, Davis Reference, PN1995.9.N4 R54 1998
check availability in the catalog

Smith, Valerie. Representing Blackness : Issues in Film and Video. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press, 1997.
Stone Center Library, Davis, House Undergraduate, PN1995.9.N4 R47 1997
check availability in the catalog

Criticism and Reviews

Indexes Specifically to Film Reviews and Criticism:

International Index to Film Periodicals, 1972-Present. London: International Federation of Film Archives, 1973-. [Pub. varies]
Covers 60 to 80 titles selected to reflect international coverage of lasting aesthetic and critical value.
Davis Reference Row 17

Media Review Digest, 1973/74-Present. Ann Arbor, MI: Pierian Press, 1974.
"The only Complete Guide to Reviews of Non-Print Media." Citations with descriptive notes to reviews of films, filmstrips, spoken word recordings, slides, media kits, and a variety of other media.
Davis Reference Row 17

Cumulative Indexes to Reviews:

Film Review Index: 1882-1985. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1986.
A valuable index to reviews of films "of continuing importance. " Selective in attempting to provide references to substantive reviews from a wide variety of sources, both books and articles. Saves you the trouble of checking The Readers Guide to Periodical Literature and other sources for reviews of films released before 1980.
Davis Reference Row 17

Sources that Reprint Reviews:

Film Review Annual, 1981-Present. Englewood, NJ: Film Review Publications, 1982-.
Reprints reviews for full-length films released in U.S. markets. Reviews are drawn from a wide variety of newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. A variety of indexes are provided. An excellent source.
Davis reference Row 17

Sight and Sound Film Review Volume. London: The British Film Institute, May 1991-December 1994.
Intended as a companion to the periodical Sight and Sound, also published by the BFI. These are the only volumes to appear so far and there is a gap from May to December 1991.
Davis Reference Row 17

Filmfacts. NY, 1958-1977.
International in scope. For each film gives personnel, synopsis, and copies of several reviews from major U.S. newspapers and sometimes magazines. Very handy for the years it covers. Includes trashy as well as legitimate films.
Davis Reference Row 17

Variety Film Reviews, 1907-1920-. NY: Bowker, 1983-Present.
Reprints reviews from Variety, the major trade publication for the film industry. Covers many obscure U.S. films and is particularly valuable for coverage of the international industry.
Davis Reference Row 17

Biography and Bibliography

Gray, John. Blacks in Film and Television : A Pan-African Bibliography of Films, Filmmakers, and Performers. Vol. 27. New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.
Davis Reference, House Undergraduate Reference, Z5784.M9 G72 1990

Hyatt, Marshall. The Afro-American Cinematic Experience : An Annotated Bibliography & Filmography. Wilmington, Del.: Scholarly Resources Inc., 1983.
Davis, House Undergraduate Reference, PN1995.9.N4 H9 1983
check availability in the catalog

Klotman, Phyllis Rauch, and Gloria J. Gibson. Frame by Frame II : A Filmography of the African American Image, 1978-1994. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1997.
Stone Center Library, Davis Reference, House Undergraduate Reference, PN1995.9.N4 K58 1997
check availability in the catalog

Klotman, Phyllis Rauch. Frame by Frame : A Black Filmography. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1979.
Davis, Davis Reference, House Undergraduate Reference, PN1995.9.N4 K57
check availability in the catalog

Moon, Spencer. Reel Black Talk : A Sourcebook of 50 American Filmmakers. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
Stone Center Library, Davis Reference, House Undergraduate, PN1998.2 .M66 1997
check availability in the catalog

Oshana, Maryann. Women of Color : A Filmography of Minority and Third World Women. Vol. ol. 173. New York: Garland Pub., 1985.
Davis Reference, Z5784.M9 O84 1985

Powers, Anne. Blacks in American Movies; a Selected Bibliography. Metuchen, N.J.: The Scarecrow Press, 1974.
Davis Reference, House Undergraduate Reference, Z5784.M9 P69

Sampson, Henry T. Blacks in Black and White : A Source Book on Black Films. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow press, 1995.
Stone Center Library, Davis Reference, House Undergraduate Reference, PN1995.9.N4 S2 1995
check availability in the catalog

Databases

Indexes Specifically to Film Reviews and Criticism:

Interdisciplinary indexes that include film reviews and analysis:

Newspapers:

Websites

The Black Film Center Archive
The Black Film Center/Archive is a repository of films and related materials by and about African Americans, including films which have substantial participation by blacks as writers, actors, producers, directors, musicians, and consultants, as well as those which depict some aspect of black experience. Primarily a resource list of historic and contemporary Hollywood and independent films, the site is enhanced by a selection of historical film clips and a good collection of links.

blackfilm.com
This site serves as a resource for those interested in contemporary Black cinema. Reviews of Black produced, directed or starred in films are provided along with information on upcoming screenings of new films. Also features full-length articles, news about video and DVD releases, as well as information about conferences, screenings, and other events.

California Newsreel
California Newsreel is a distributor of documentary film. The African American Perspectives collection includes films about African American history and culture. The Library of African Cinema includes feature, as well as documentary, films about African life and culture.

Filmfinder @ House Library
FilmFinder is a searchable database of the more than 10,000 film titles available in the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Undergraduate Library's Media Resources Center.

Separate Cinema
The focus of this site is to preserve the history and art of African Americans in film. This organization holds an extensive archive of "movie posters, lobby cards, stills and other materials" about Black cinema. The site includes online exhibits of movie posters in such categories as Blaxploitation, Harlem Goes West, and New Black Hollywood.

Stone Center Library Guide to the Web
The guide is a valuable resource for scholars and other researchers interested in African, African American, and African Diaspora history and culture. It includes websites on Film and Film Festivals.

  • Last Updated: Nov 2, 2016 11:31 AM
  • URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/afamfilm