African Studies Home: News & Digital Archives

What is on this page?

This page features many news and archives sources pertaining to African studies, categorized by several disciplines, listed here:

News Archives Digital Project and Archives
Interview and Photograph Archives Blogs and Podcasts

News Archives

Interview and photograph archives

African Activist Archive Project
From Michigan State University, this project aims to preserve records and memories of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s. The project includes an online archive of historical materials, remembrances and interviews with activists, and a directory of archives of organizations and individuals at libraries and historical societies that are available for further research

Digital Projects and Archives

Water in Africa
The web dossier is based on the ASC in Leiden library collection and contains the titles of books, articles, book chapters, DVDs and online resources on water, water supply,  sanitation, water scarcity, water management, and climate change.


The African Online Digital Library (AODL) "is a portal to multimedia collections about Africa. MATRIX, working in cooperation with the African Studies Center at Michigan State University, is partnering with universities and cultural heritage organizations in Africa to build this resource. Plans are underway to add digital tools in order to enable scholars to work with and add to these materials."

Northwestern Digital Africana Collections

Blogs & Podcasts

  • Last Updated: Sep 1, 2015 2:45 PM
  • URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/africahome