This is the "Recordings" page of the "African Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African Music  

Last Updated: Jan 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/africanmusic Print Guide Email Alerts

Recordings Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Digital Music Projects

Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent

Africa Focus brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries.

African Music on the Internet

A collection of links to Africa music sites collected and maintained by Stanford University.

On Liberia: Liberian Collections Project

As part of Indiana University´s renowned Archives of Traditional Music (ATM), the Liberian Collections Project now enhances the ATM´s rich holdings of audio and videotaped recordings of Liberian music and dance. The Liberian Collections include historical and ethnographic documents, newspapers, government publications, books, journals ... etc.

 

Music Library Holdings

Browse the library's collection of:

Recordings

Printed Music

Add terms to narrow the search results to particular people, countries, events, etc.

 

Streaming Music

These streaming audio databases can be accessed from on- or off-campus.

You can create playlists and download tracks, albums or playlists to your mobile device (for 48 hours)

Smithsonian Global Sound

"...Is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms."

Contemporary World Music

Thousands of tracks of a wide variety of contemporary and traditional music from all over the world.

UNC Chapel Hill also owns many sound recordings of music from African countries that can be checked out from the Music Library. Search for them in the library catalog and make a note of the call number and location. Search on keywords: "music Africa" or a specific country, genre or artist. Select Audio from the facets on the left side of the screen to narrow your results to CDs.

Music Librarian

Profile Image
Diane Steinhaus
Contact Info
Music Library
(919) 966-1113
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip