This is the "Articles & Primary Sources" page of the "African Studies Home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African Studies Home  

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/africahome Print Guide Email Alerts

Articles & Primary Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is on this page?

This page features many primary sources pertaining to African studies, categorized by several disciplines, listed here:

General Database    History & Politics  Sociology
Women & Gender  Language & Linguistics Business
Religious Studies Slavery & Abolition
 

General Databases

Africa-Wide: NiPAD

This database provides access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa. For best results, search by keyword, in TX All Text Fields

Black studies center

A fully cross-searchable gateway combines invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black studies.

AFRICABIB.ORG

Consists of five major resources, Africana Periodical Literature, African Women's literature, Women Travelers, Islam in Contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa, and Kenya Coast. 


JSTOR

Provides an archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international, and many of the sciences.

Academic Search Premier

Covers popular and scholarly journal articles with many full-text articles.

Google Think Tank Search Engine

Search across 300 of the most important US and international think tanks.

 

Religious Studies

ATLA Religion Database

A major index to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in the field of religion.

Encyclopaedia of Islam 

Has long been the definitive publication covering the whole scope of Islamic religion, life, and culture.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online 

Brings together the best current scholarship in the field to foster a more accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world.

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures

Is an essential reference work for students and researchers in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as scholars of religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines. 

Encyclopaedia Judaica

Includes over 21,000 articles on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, from the beginnings of Judaism to the present.

Index Islamicus

The international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.

ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index 

Covers over 200 periodicals which publish articles studying the faith, practices, and the lives of Catholics and the Catholic Church worldwide.

Index to Jewish Periodicals

Covers over 220 journals which focus on the study of Jewish affairs and Judaism around the world.

 

Business

Business Source Complete 

Provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

Global Business Guide

UNC Library guide to a collection of databases and news on global business.

 

History & Politics

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966

Documents in Confidential Print: Africa covers the whole of the modern period of European colonization of the Africa continent.

House of Commons parliamentary papers

Provides full-text access to thousands of 19th Century Parliamentary Papers, including statistical abstracts for British colonies in Africa.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides indexing and abstracts of the international journal literature in political science and related fields.

Liberation Movement in Africa and African America

Composed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People’s Revolutionary Party. 

PAIS international

Provides indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.

 

Women & Gender

GenderWatch
A full-text collection of international journals, regional publications, conference proceedings .. etc. devoted to women's and gender issues.

Women's Studies International
An interdisciplinary database covering women's issues worldwide.

 

Language & Linguistics

Linguistics Abstracts

Indexes and abstracts articles from nearly 300 linguistics journals.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Covers the international literature dealing with the discipline of linguistics and related language sciences.

 

Slavery & Abolition

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice

Brings together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database

Provides data on over 35,000 slave ship voyages which forcibly carried over 10 million Africans to the Americas from the early 16th to the mid-19th centuries.

African Origins

Contains information about the migration histories of Africans forcibly carried on slave ships into the Atlantic.

 

Sociology

Family and Society Studies Worldwide 

Comprises three databases which cover journal and other literature in the area of family studies.

Sociological Abstracts

Provides access to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip