This is the "News & Digital Archives" page of the "African Studies Home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African Studies Home  

Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/africahome Print Guide Email Alerts

News & Digital Archives Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is on this page?

This page features many news and archives sources pertaining to African studies, categorized by several disciplines, listed here:

News Archives Digital Project and Archives
Interview and Photograph Archives Blogs and Podcasts
 

News Archives

AllAfrica
Containing some two million articles from over 130 African news organizations since 1996 to present.

African Journals Online

Indexes over fifty journals published in Africa covering the agricultural sciences, science and technology, health, and social sciences.

African Newspapers

Contains the fulltext of over 40 newspapers published in a number of African countries between 1800 - 1922.

AFRINUL

African Newspapers Project is the African Newspapers Union List of holdings information for newspapers published in sub-Saharan Africa. 

LexisNexis Academic

Covers general, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information. Date coverage varies; some of the files go back to the 1970s.

 

Interview and photograph archives

United Nations’ poster -- Namibia - Independence, Now!

African Activist Archive Project

From Michigan State University, this project aims to preserve records and memories of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s. The project includes an online archive of historical materials, remembrances and interviews with activists, and a directory of archives of organizations and individuals at libraries and historical societies that are available for further research.

Photographs of Africa

A digital library created by the University of Florida that includes photographs of Africa from various research projects and photographers. Currently, this growing collection includes select photographs by cinematographer/photographer Martin Rikli (1898-1969) documenting his Ethiopian (Abessinien) expedition from 1935-36, which coincided with the second Italo-Abyssinian War.

Overcoming Apartheid

From Michigan State University, South Africa: Overcoming Apartheid, Building Democracy presents first-hand accounts of this important political movement. Interviews with South African activists, raw video footage documenting mass resistance and police repression, historical documents, rare photographs, and original narratives tell this remarkable story.

Nuer Field Notes

A digital collection created by the University of Indiana with the goal to preserve and make accessible a set of linguistic field notes recorded by Eleanor Vandevort, who was a missionary in the South Sudan between 1949 and 1963. The project was funded by Indiana University’s African Studies Program and the Indiana University Libraries.

Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent

Africa Focus brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries.

University of Cape Town Digital Collections
"Includes the Jacobson Digital Africana Program collection with historical maps of South Africa, anti-apartheid journals, Anthropological collections, theses, and UCT history."

 

Digital Projects and Archives

Water in Africa

The web dossier is based on the ASC in Leiden library collection and contains the titles of books, articles, book chapters, DVDs and online resources on water, water supply,  sanitation, water scarcity, water management, and climate change.

Genocide Archive Rwanda

Includes videos relating to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi coupled with synchronized transcripts, searchable index terms, and maps. Videos include testimonies of Genocide survivors and perpetrators, Gacaca Justice System court proceedings, and remembrance ceremonies.

Aluka

"A digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. It includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Aluka’s partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, and manuscripts."

Digital Somali Library

"The Digital Somali Library (DSL) provides full-text, online access to 137 books from Indiana University Bloomington's Somali collection. IU's Somali collection ranks among the top-tier of such collections in the world and, in many cases, it includes unique items."


Northwestern Digital Africana Collections

 

16th to Early 20th Century Maps of Africa

“This site features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century. All scanned maps are authentic and originally collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies (or the Africana Library) at Northwestern University.”

Posters from the Herskovits Library

“The Herskovits Library maintains a comprehensive collection of posters published in Africa and elsewhere. The posters provide a unique resource to carry on research in a broad range of disciplines by consulting the visual image created by governments (independent and colonial) and international agencies, as well as political, labor, social, religious, educational and cultural organizations. On this web site, 590 posters, selected as a representative sampling of the collection, are available for searching and viewing.”

The Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960

“Assembled by the British collector Humphrey Winterton over about 30 years, the collection depicts the breadth of African experience, documents African life, European life in Africa in all its manifestations and the African landscape, in particular as it changed over time.  This website provides access to the Winterton Collection inventory and a sample of 101 images from the collection. When you view the images available on this site, you will find the album and image numbers from the inventory adjacent to the image...”

 

Blogs & Podcasts

Africa Past & Present

A podcast hosted by Michigan State University about history, culture, and politics in Africa and the diaspora.

H-Africa Discussion Network

A member of H-Net's consortium of scholarly lists. H-Africa encourages discussion of Africa's history, culture, and African studies generally.

Trip Down Memory Lane

A collection of information with images about Africa people and tribes.

Google Africa Blog

Google in Sub-Saharan Africa: News, Stories and Thoughts.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip