The course page for students in the fall 2013 section of ART 363, featuring important resources, databases, and citing information.
Cave 329 at Dunhuang/ Mogao Cave 329; 7th century; China (PRC); from: The John C. and Susan L. Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art, The Ohio State University.
- Oxford Art Online
Includes the Grove Art Online, an encyclopedia of art, with general introductions to a variety of topics related to this course.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art
Compiled by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's curatorial, conservation, and education staff, covers pre-history to the present day. Contents arranged chronologically, geographically, and thematically
- Research Guide - Art of China (all periods)
This is a more comprehensive guide to research resources on the art of China covering all time periods.
- Chinese Art and Architecture: An Annotated List of Recent Works in Western Languages
in Encyclopedia Smithsonian online (updated 1999).
- Dictionary of Chinese and Japanese Art
Includes biographical entries.
- Chinese Studies Resources (UNC)
Prepared by the East Asian Librarian at UNC, this guide connects you with both English and Chinese resources related to China studies available at UNC-Chapel Hill. Resources include areas of: Books and Articles, Reference materials, Visual Resources, and highlights of UNC's collections related to China, as well as contact information to set up a research consultation or schedule a tour to visit the East Asian Resources.
Here are a few criteria that you could consider in order to determine whether or not an article, book, or website is of a quality worthy of inclusion in your research assignment (e.g., paper, presentation, etc.).