What is in this guide?
This guide is intended to assist artists and researchers looking for artists' books, and for scholarship, criticism, and technical guides related to artists' books.
An artist’s book is a work of art created using the book form. Artists’ books represent the full range of contemporary art practice, from elaborate objects displaying fine craft to more conceptual artworks that may look like an ordinary book. The key is that the artist makes conscious use of the physical and conceptual possibilities of the book as an integral part of the artwork.
The Sloane Art Library has a broadly representative collection including works by major book artists such as Ed Ruscha, Johanna Drucker, Keith Smith, and Julie Chen, among others. Areas of special strength include artists' books from Latin America and some work by local book artists. Apart from those held in the Sloane Art Library, the Rare Books Collection in Wilson Library also has a collection of artists' books, specializing in books from Cuba, Mexico, and Argentina.
- Find Reference Sources - Locate print and online overviews, catalogs, and histories of artists' books.
- Find Journal Articles - Search for articles through Art Full Text database or browse publications specific to artists' books.
- Artists's Books at Sloane - Learn how to locate and access artists' books in Sloane's Artists' Book Collection by searching the library catalog by binding, printing, or thematic criteria.
- About Our Collection - Learn about the artists' book collection at Sloane Art Library and access images of selected works.
- Other Collections & Organizations - Find other institutions that have collections of artists’ books, as well as book arts centers and other organizations devoted to the art of the book.
For more information about artists’ books at Sloane Art Library, please contact Josh Hockensmith at (919) 962-2397 or by email.
* Photo above is of Panorama, by Julie Chen (Flying Fish Press, 2008)