This is the "Home" page of the "BIOL 201: Ecology and Evolution" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BIOL 201: Ecology and Evolution  

Last Updated: Oct 14, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/biol201 Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

UNC catalog search (search opens in new window)

   

Google Scholar UNC

 

Finding Journal Articles

Where to start?

Introduction to Library Research
Library Research in the Sciences
How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?
Example of an academic journal article (click on the pdf to view)

Search across various publication types

Academic OneFile
Contains over 8,000 academic, trade, and general-interest periodicals; also includes the full-text of the New York Times back to 1995 as well as hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC.

Find scholarly research material

BIOSIS Citation Index
BIOSIS Citation Index is an index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more, with content from journals, meetings, patents, and books.
BIOSIS Citation Index Help
BIOSIS Citation Index Training Videos

Zoological Record
Zoology Record is the most in-depth index to research dealing with animals in their natural environments.
Zoological Record Help
Zoological Record Tutorial

Scopus Scopus is a multidisciplinary index that covers all the sciences and lets you search using the citations within articles.
Scopus help

Web of Science
The Web of Science is another multidisciplinary index with citation searching.
Web of Science Help
Web of Science Tutorial

PubMed
PubMed is an index to clinical medicine and human biology research.

Faculty of 1000
Reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 selected leading researchers.

More Article Databases

 

Helpful Reference Tool

AccessScience
An online encyclopedia of science plus news, images, and study guides.

Today's Science
Science in the headlines, suggestions of research topics, and more.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
An online encyclopedia containing over 3,000 peer-reviewed articles by leading scientists.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
David Romito
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Plagiarism and the Honor System

Plagiarism
A handout from the UNC Writing Center that defines plagiarism and explains how to avoid it.

UNC Honor System

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip