This is the "Home" page of the "Biology Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University Libraries banner
University Libraries banner

Biology Resources  

Last Updated: Feb 20, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/biology Print Guide Email AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Scholar UNC

 About
 

Citing

Citing Information Tutorial

citation builder icon

Create citations in the right format using this web form.

refworks icon

Use this web-based tool to manage the citations for your research projects.

 

Plagiarism and the Honor System

Plagiarism
A handout from the UNC Writing Center that defines plagiarism and explains how to avoid it.

UNC Honor System

 

Academic Journal Articles

BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews is a comprehensive biological sciences index. It provides approximately 13 million records from nearly 5,000 life sciences journals and non-journal literature, including conferences, meetings, symposia, review articles, U.S. patents, books, book chapters, and software reviews.
BIOSIS Previews Help
BIOSIS Previews Tutorial

Zoological Record
Zoology Record is the most in-depth index to research dealing with animals in their natural environments.
Zoological Record Help
Zoological Record Tutorial

ISI Citation Databases (Web of Science)
The Web of Science is an multidisciplinary index that covers all the sciences. It includes the ability to search using the citations contained within articles.
Web of Science Help
Web of Science Tutorial

PubMed
Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
PubMed Help
PubMed Tutorial
PubMed Basics (.pdf file)

Faculty of 1000
Reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 selected leading researchers.

sample article icon Example of an academic journal article (click on the pdf to view)

More Article Databases |  How Do I Find Articles? |  How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text? |  How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?

 

UNC catalog search

   

 

Helpful Reference Tool

AccessScience
An online encyclopedia of science plus news, images, and study guides.

Today's Science
Science in the headlines, suggestions of research topics, and more.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
An online encyclopedia containing over 3,000 peer-reviewed articles by leading scientists.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
David Romito
Contact Info
Kenan Science Library
G301 Venable Hall
(919) 962-1188
Send Email
 

Science Libraries Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

More Help

Introduction to Library Research

Writing Center Handouts
Tips to get you started and help along the way in the writing process.

Evaluating Information

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip