ARTS102 Core Concepts: IMAGE


The Sloane Art Library has a number of excellent resources both online and in the library to support your exploratory work in this course. For more resources, check out our main Art & Architecture guide: 


Quilt, Star of Lemoyne pattern variation (1860)
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection Online

Art & Architecture Image Databases

Open Access Image Collections

Images in ARTstor with the IAP tag can be used for publishing and educational use, without the need to request additional permissions from contributing museums. More info about the IAP program can be found here:

Art & Architecture Libraries and Books

UNC Library Catalog Search


Explore the Sloane Art Library Collection in Person

TIP The entire section of the library with call numbers starting with NK (1st floor) is devoted to books about the decorative arts, including textiles and metalwork. You'll find a great number of books featuring patterns in this section of the library.  Dont' forget to look in the Oversize books section too (also on the 1st floor).

 NK1700 – 2195

 NK2200 – 2750

 NK3700 – 4695

 NK5100 – 5440

 NK6400 – 8459

 NK8800 – 9505.5

 NK9600 – 9955

Interior decoration







Art & Architecture Article Databases

Biographical Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias provide biographical data (such as birth and death dates and lists of works), bibliographies and essays that are authored by experts in the field.

Art Librarian

Josh Hockensmith
Sloane Art Library

102 Hanes Art Center

(919) 962-2397
Website / Blog Page

Core Concepts: IMAGE

Repeating Geometric Pattern of Purple Triangles Overlaid with Orange Mandalas
Anonymous, French, 20th century
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection Online

Internet Archive Book Images

Internet Archive Book Images: A project to digitize all of the images not included in the Internet Archive's book scanning project! 

  • Last Updated: Sep 30, 2015 4:01 PM
  • URL: