Search across several authoritative art encyclopedias and dictionaries, including the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
An excellent resource which includes African-American artists as well as Latino, Asian Pacific and Native American. Biographical essay and exhibition, collection lists and bibliography for about 25 artists.
This database includes bibliographic records for books, dissertations, journals, audio-visual materials and manuscripts, some written as early as the 12th century. Note: This database does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.
It provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, Art & Architecture Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Selective coverage is included for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
Art Full Text indexes and offers full text for a wide array of journals in the fields of art history, architecture, craft, design, landscape architecture, museology, photography and video, and much more, while Art Index Retrospective cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929 and 1984.
HAPI Online is the searchable Web version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. (Source: vendor website.)
Classic Mexican Cinema Online is a collection of film catalogs, arts magazines, and other rare ephemera related to Mexican cinema from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its Golden Age (1930s to 1960).
The sources in this collection, heretofore only accessible in the archives of the Filmoteca de la UNAM in Mexico City, are an invaluable resource for research in film and media studies, Latin American studies, and for studying the historical, social, and political impact of cinema.
See ARTstor’s complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library’s ARTstor guide.
Developed and maintained by the Bibliotheque Nacional de France, Gallica provides access to over one million items, including books, manuscripts, scores, audio files, and more. While Gallica is not exclusively dedicated to Medieval and Early Modern works, it maintains a very strong collection in this time period. The interface is accessible in both English and French.
There are more than sixty partner institutions in Hathi Trust worldwide. This archive includes both serial and monograph publications from various times and in multiple languages. Not all titles are linked from the catalog or WorldCat. Some materials are available full-text and some materials, particularly those still protected by copyright, are not. Some titles not available in Hathi Trust may be available through other institutions or may be freely available elsewhere on the web.
To download full PDFs of public domain & open access items: Click 'Login' and then select University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as the HathiTrust Partner Institution. Then enter your Onyen/Password on the resulting page, before being returned to the HathiTrust site.
It is without a doubt one of the most prestigious editorial undertakings for the critical publication of medieval historical texts. The MGH has established a standard for critical editions for all Western scholarship.
Europeana provides one search for texts, videos, sound, and images from many European museums, archives, and libraries. It does not include collections outside of Europe, commercial projects, or websites otherthan libraries and museums.