Resources for WUNC Radio News Staff: Video & Still Images
Still Images
Stock Photos which may be available for use by WUNC:
- Black Illustration Image PacksIllustrations of African-Americans and people of color for commercial and personal use. Several image packs are free.
- PicNoiFree stock photos of people of color.
- Unsplash
Unsplash also has diverse stock images under tags like diversity and African-Americans.
Photo by jose aljovin on Unsplash
- PixabaySearch or browse by category. Also includes vector graphics and illustrations.
- BeholdSearches flickr for images which are free to use and modify. The "looks like" option allows you to narrow searches visually. Try searching "London" and looks like "building".
- WikiMedia Commons"A database of 18,000,906 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute." Freely available.
- Internet Archive Book ImagesNearly 3 million public domain images.
- Google ImagesLimit to "free to use or share" at the bottom of Advanced Search (next to "usage rights").
- Microsoft Bing ImagesLimit to "public domain" or one of the "free to use" options in the License drop-down at the top of the results page.
Free, high-res stock photos of people of color.Feature Films and Documentaries to Stream
Projectr - a collection of fictional narrative, shorts, documentary and educational films on a wide array of humanities, arts, global cultures and social justice topics
AVON - 70,000+ titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more; primarily documentaries and educational film. search by title, subject, or related-
Docuseek - a collection of documentaries and educational films geared toward a wide range of disciplines
Swank Digital Campus - feature films and documentaries requested for specific course reserves
NC Live - Films On Demand - a wide collection of documentary, educational and news or speech related media on a wide range of subject areas. you can search for content by title in Films on Demand.
Filmmakers Library Online - a small collection of documentaries dealing with a wide range of social, historical issues & cultures
Ethnographic Video Online - an important collection of ethnographic educational and documentary films
Kanopy - specific course reserves for classes - includes educational shorts and documentaries
BBC Shakespeare Plays - classic productions of all of Shakespeare's plays
Images from the North Carolina Collection
- Hugh Morton Collection of Photographs and FilmsHugh MacRae Morton (1921-2006) was an influential 20th-century North Carolinian: a promoter, businessman, conservationist, public servant, and prolific photographer. This digital collection contains a selection of images from the Hugh Morton Photographs and Films (Collection P081, North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives), a rich visual record of the state’s landmarks, people, events, wildlife, scenery, sports, tourism, and its oldest university.
- North Carolina PostcardsNorth Carolina Postcards is a project of the North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives, which holds more than 12,000 North Carolina postcards contained primarily in two collections: the North Carolina Postcard Collection and the Durwood Barbour Collection of North Carolina Postcards. This digital project contains a selection of materials from the North Carolina Collection's postcard collections, including at least one image for each of North Carolina's one hundred counties.
- North Carolina MapsNorth Carolina Maps is a comprehensive, online collection of historic maps of the Tar Heel State. Featuring maps from three of the state's largest map collections -- the North Carolina State Archives, the North Carolina Collection at UNC-Chapel Hill, and the Outer Banks History Center -- North Carolina Maps provides an unprecedented level of access to these materials. North Carolina Maps contains more than 3,000 maps, ranging in date from the late 1500s to 2000, and including detailed maps for each of North Carolina's one hundred counties.
FilmFinder
Icons
- NounProject
Creative Commons licensed icons. Requires free registration to download. - Icon ArchiveIcon search engine.
- Open ClipartClip art put into the public domain by the artists.
Creative Commons licensed icons. Requires free registration to download.Image from Image Archive
