Online Statistical Information for the UNC Law Community

This 1978 book has been digitized by the HathiTrust and is available online thorough the UNC catalog. It contains biographies, statistics, and evaluations of the first 100 U.S. Supreme Court Justices.

[Available on-campus and to UNC faculty, students, and staff off-campus] The first issue of each volume of the Harvard Law Review contains a review of the last U.S. Supreme Court that includes a statistical summary of that term.

This project at the Chicago-Kent College of Law is a multimedia archive of the U.S. Supreme Court and its activiites. It has summaries of cases/decisions (including oral argument audio files for cases since 1955) and biographic information about Justices. Case coverage dates back to 1792.

This webpage has current US Supreme Court term statistics by the SCOTUS Blog. A link to the archive is on the page, and the statistics date back to 1995.

This database contains a wealth of statistical information about the U.S. Supreme Court between the 1946 and 2015 terms. Data is divided into case-centered data and justice-centered data. The latest data set is 2016, but the site contains legacy data sets dating back to 2009. The database was originally created by political science professor Harold J. Spaeth and is funded by the National Science Foundation. Most data is available in Excel format, but the data is also available in formats that require special statistical software. In addition to the main data sets, there are some supplemental data sets under "Supplementary Materials."

[Available on-campus and to UNC faculty, students, and staff off-campus] The 1932-2017 editions of this official journal of the U.S. Supreme Court have statistics of the Supreme Court for that particular year. This link is the HeinOnline version, but UNC-CH affiliates also have access to the LLMC version through the catalog, and some of these volumes with the statistics are on the U.S. Supreme Court's website.

[Available to UNC faculty, students, and staff] Hosted by the ICPSR at the University of Michigan, this page has three databases about the U.S. Supreme Court with different date ranges, in addition to some related publications. Access requires to the data sets requires users to set up a free account or log in using social media, and the data may require specialized stat packages. : This data collection encompasses all aspects of United States Supreme Court decision-making from the beginning of the Warren Court in 1953 up to the completion of the 1995 term of the Rehnquist Court on July 1, 1996, including any decisions made afterward but before the start of the 1996 term on October 7, 1996.

This website contains the American Bar Association's ratings of federal judicial nominees from 1989 to the present as well as written statements for U.S. Supreme Court and "not qualified" nominees from 1993 to the present.

Hosted by the UCLA School of Law, this database provides various types of bankruptcy court and proceedings data, including topical studies, calculators that predict various bankruptcy proceeding outcomes, and information about particular bankruptcy cases. The case tables now cost money, but the online data and tools are still free.

This site is a directory of Federal judge biographies from 1789 to the present.

On this page are a list of court-related databases archived by the Univ. of South Carolina's JuRI project. These databases include older versions of Harold J. Spaeth's U.S. Supreme Court databases; United States Court of Appeals databases, Attributes of United States Federal Court Judges; National High Courts databases (these are the high courts for foreign nations); and the Institutional History of U.S. Courts. These databases are historical and not current, and many of them require specialized statistical software to access the data.

This portion of the official site of the U.S. Federal Court system provides federal court statistics, including caseloads, case management statistics, and the business of the court. The site is divided into analysis & reports, caseload statistics data tables (which is a data tool), and publications. Include Bankruptcy Court statistics.

This webpage contains information about the structure and framework of state trial and appellate courts. The data is from the State Court Organization (SCO) data series, which is sponsored by the Bureau of Justice Statistics. The earliest data is from 1980,and the latest data is from 2011.

This page provides links to data and publications associated with the Court Statistics Project (CSP), which publishes caseload data from all fifty states, the District of Colombia, and Puerto Rico. CSP is a joint project of the National Center for State Courts and the Conference of State Court Administrators. Interactive Caseload Data Displays allows the user to explore the data through interactive displays and data.

Provided by ICPSR, this data collection provides comparable measures of state appellate and trial court caseloads by type of case for the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico from 1985-2010. Major areas of investigation include: (1) case filings in state appellate and trial courts, (2) case dispositions in state appellate and trial courts, and (3) appellate opinions. Within each of these areas of investigation, cases are separated by main case type. Types include civil cases, capital punishment cases, other criminal cases, juvenile cases, administrative agency appeals, and several other types.

A joint project between academics at Rice University and Michigan State University and funded by the National Science Foundation, this website provides links to data about State Supreme Court decisions from all 50 states from 1995-1998. Data requires statistical software to access.

The site provides access to statistical information on special interest topics and trial court caseloads. The site also links to Judicial Branch annual reports and fact sheets.

This site provides annual statistical and operational reports for appellate courts, budget and financial, court programs, human resources, and trial courts.