A Residents' Guide to PubMed Basics

Select Articles

When reviewing search results, click in the box next to the PubMed record to select an item to store.

Click the Send to link on the top right hand side of the search results to open the destination options. Send to options work for the entire results set when no boxes are checked.

"Send to" Clipboard

The Clipboard provides temporary storage for selected items. It allows you to save citations from various searches so that you can move them to more permanent storage in one step.

Once you have added items to the Clipboard, a link to the items is posted just below the search box on the right hand side of the results screen.

Items placed on the clipboard have a red "Item in clipboard" notice at the bottom of the abstract.

At the end of your search session, click on the Clipboard: # items link to go to the Clipboard page. Use the Send to options on the Clipboard page to move your selections to a permanent place.

"Send to" Collections

PubMed provides access to a permanent storage space called "My NCBI". When you select "Send to" Collections, you are prompted to sign in to My NCBI.

You can sign in to My NCBI with your Onyen. Click on "See more 3rd party sign in options" and select University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

PubMed My NCBI Sign In options

Once you sign in to My NCBI, PubMed will first take you back to the search results page. If your items are not still selected, click on Advanced under the search box, on the Advanced Search Builder page scroll down to your History and use the Items found link next to the Select # Documents set.

With your select items on the screen, click "Send to" Collections. On the next screen give your collection a name that will help you identify the content when you return later. You will be able to add selections to this collection as needed.

To retrieve your collection when you start your next PubMed session, click on the My NCBI Sign In link at the very top of the right hand side of the screen. After you sign in, click on your user name next to the My NCBI Sign Out to access your collection.

My NCBI Sign-in PubMed Home

"Send to" Citation Manager

The "Send to" Citation Manager option formats a file to download for import into a bibliographic reference program such as RefWorks or EndNote.

Detailed help for importing citations can be found in the following guides:

"Send to" Email

The "Send to" Email option sends the article record. It does not send links to the full-text of the article.

The "Send to" Email option has a number of default settings. Be sure to review the default settings to make sure you receive the content you want.

  • Format: Summary format only includes citation information. Select Abstract if you want to send more information. Text options will not include links back to the content in PubMed.
  • Number to send:  Make sure this number is larger than the total number of items in your selection.

Open the Emailed Article Record in PubMed

  • Non-text Summary or Abstract emailed article records will have a link to the content in PubMed. First open a library link to PubMed in your email program's default browser (for example, Internet Explorer or Firefox). Then click on the link to the article record in your email. You should see the Find @ UNC button on the article record in PubMed.
  • Use the PMID# in the article record to search for it PubMed.

Save Searches

Consider saving your search whenever you want to:

  • Return to the same search later
  • Receive email alerts with new articles on a particular topic or from particular journals

To save a search:

  • Enter the search in the search box
  • Click the Save Search link under the search box

Saved searches are stored in My NCBI

  • PubMed provides access to storage space as part of a personal account called "My NCBI". When you select Save Search, you are prompted to sign in to My NCBI.

Sign in to My NCBI with your Onyen

  • Click on "See more 3rd party sign in options" and select University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

My NCBI Institutional Sign In

  • Once you have signed in to My NCBI, the Saved Search Setting page appears with options to name the search and set up an email alert.

Return to My NCBI

  • To run or modify your saved search, click on the My NCBI Sign In link at the very top of the right hand side of the PubMed page. After you sign in, click on your user name next to the My NCBI Sign Out to access your stored content.

My NCBI Sign-in PubMed Home

Learn more about My NCBI

Support Research, Teaching, & Learning - Give to the HSL