Desegregation of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Books and Theses

The North Carolina Collection has many books useful to researchers interested in desegregation at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Books on the history of UNC-Chapel Hill and the desegregation of higher education more broadly may also be useful to researchers. All of the titles listed below, and many more that are not listed, are available at Wilson Library.

Snider, William D. Light on the Hill: A History of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. C378 UE52

This volume covers the history of UNC-Chapel Hill from its origins in the 18th century to the late 20th century. In his coverage of the 20th century, Snider discusses desegregation at the university, prominent individuals involved, and the continued push for racial equality after the end of formal segregation. 

Wilson, Louis R. The University of North Carolina Under Consolidation, 1931-1963: History and Appraisal. C378 UE30

This volume details the development of UNC-Chapel Hill, North Carolina State University, and UNC- Greensboro during a thirty year period from 1931 to 1963. The conflict over desegregation is covered. The discussion includes a description of the actions taken by the Board of Trustees and administration officials as well as court rulings and legislative decisions relevant to the desegregation of higher education in North Carolina. 

Turner, Jeffrey A. Sitting In and Speaking Out: Students Movements in the American South, 1960-1970. C378 UE80

This volume focuses on the student activism of the 1960s. In particular, Turner discusses the initial desegregation of college campuses and the conflict that followed as Southern universities adjusted to new realities. Focused broadly on the American South, this volume provides context for the events at UNC- Chapel Hill during this time period and discusses civil rights activities at the school. 

Cohen, Robert, ed. Rebellion in Black and White: Southern Student Activism in the 1960s. C378.9 R291j

This collection of essays, like Jeffrey Turner's book, focuses on student activism in the South during the 1960s. In addition to covering events at UNC-Chapel Hill, this volume discusses protests and race relations at other institutions of higher education in the South. 

The North Carolina Collection at Wilson Library collects dissertations, theses, and undergraduate honors papers written by students at UNC-Chapel Hill. Listed below are a few examples of student publications related to desegregation at the university. Many more titles are available.

Ayres, Q. Whitfield. Education and Civil Rights Policy: The Office for Civil Rights vs. the University of North Carolina. M.A. Thesis, University of North Carolina, 1977. C378 UO2 1977 Ayres, Q.W.

Blanchard, Gary F. The Politics of Desegregation: A Case Study of Desegregation and Municipal Decision-Making in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. Honors thesis, University of North Carolina, 1964. C378 UO6 1964 v.1

Cheek, Neal. An Historical Study of the Administrative Actions in the Racial Desegregation of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1930-1955. Ph. D. Dissertation, University of North Carolina, 1973.C378 U02 1973 Cheek

Vaughan, James Herbert Jr. The Integration of Negroes into the Law School at the University of North Carolina. M.A. Thesis, University of North Carolina, 1952. C378 U02 1952 Vaughan

In addition to coverage in more traditional publications, university history, desegregation and the push for civil rights have been discussed in several digital exhibits and online resources. These resources provide useful information and may also be helpful in locating additional relevant material.

The Carolina Story: A Virtual Museum of University History: This site tells the story of UNC-Chapel Hill over the past two centuries. Particularly useful exhibits include "African Americans and Integration," "African Americans and Segregation," and "The Black Student Movement at Carolina." 

Slavery and the Making of the University: This online exhibit discusses slavery at UNC-Chapel Hill and the central role that African Americans played in the university's early years. 

I Raised My Hand to Volunteer: This online exhibit highlights student protest movements at UNC-Chapel Hill during the 1960s and 1970s. Part I discusses integration sit-ins through primary source documents and photographs. 

While this LibGuide lists a number of resources that deal primarily with the desegregation of UNC, there are many broader sources that include at least some information about the subject. Library of Congress Subject Headings are an excellent way to locate additional material in Wilson Library. Researchers can search the UNC Libraries online catalog for the following subjects:

African American college students -- North Carolina

African Americans -- Education (Higher) -- North Carolina

College integration -- North Carolina

Segregation in higher education -- North Carolina

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill -- History