Skip to main content

Citing Information: Online Sources

Online Sources

MLA 8th ed.: Online Sources

Citations for electronic resources are, by and large, the same as for their print equivalents except that online materials are more likely to have multiple containers. Note that when it comes to online materials, the "Date of Access" element is optional.

Website

MLA Online Website

Webpage or Blog Post

MLA Online Webpage or Blog Post

Full-text Article, Retrieved from an Online Database

MLA Online Full-text Article from an Online Database

Article from an Online Scholarly Journal

MLA Online Article from a Scholarly Journal

Chapter in an eBook

Chapter in an eBook

Course Home Page

MLA Online Course Home Page

Course Page on Sakai

MLA Online Course Page on Sakai

Article from a News Website

MLA Online Article from a News Website

Newspaper Article without an Author, Retrieved from an Online Database

 

MLA Online Newspaper Article without an Author, Retrieved from an Online Database

Image from Website

MLA Online Image from Website

Images from an Image/Photo Database

MLA Online Images an Image/Photo Database

Film

A film citation usually starts with the "Title of Source." "Original Publication Date" is an optional element. You may also list any other persons relevant to your paper or that will help with identification of the film, including screenwriters, actors, producers, etc in the "Other Contributors" element. Finally, the film's distributor goes in the "Publisher" element.

MLA Online Motion Picture

If you want to focus on some aspect of the film, like the direction, you can put that individual in the "Author" element.

MLA Online Motion Picture Director Emphasis

Episodes of a Television Show

MLA Online Episode of Television Show

This is how you would cite an episode viewed on a streaming service.

MLA Online Streaming TV Episode

YouTube Video

MLA Online YouTube Video with Known Author

If you do not have a name for the author or creator of the content, you simply put the name of the uploader in the "Other Contributor" location.

MLA Online YouTube Video

Tweet

MLA Online Tweet

The "Author" is the Twitter handle and the "Title of Source" is the full text of the tweet as it was originally written.

Online Comments

MLA Online Comments