French 376 - 001: Identity and Nationhood in Québécois Literature, Spring 2016 (Prof. Dominique Fisher): Databases for Critical Analysis
Secondary Resources (Literary Criticism)
Example of a Scholarly Article (click on PDF Icon for full text)
If you need to find a database for a specific subject (e.g., Art, History, Women's Studies), search E-Research Tools by Subject, and first try the "Recommended Databases." For example, see the E-research Tools for French.
- MLA International BibliographyA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
- Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
- JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
- Project MuseProvides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses - Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
- CAIRNFull-text electronic French journals in French and Francophone Studies as well as general humanities and social sciences journals in French.
Films
- Le peuple invisible (une film de Richard Desjardins)Alors que différents projets forestiers, miniers ou hydroélectriques s'intéressent aux territoires autochtones, le MQDC propose de visionner "Le peuple invisible". Ce documentaire de Richard Desjardins et Robert Monderie retrace l'histoire du peuple algonquin. Ce film n'est pas qu'une critique de la vision et des actions des Québécois blancs, mais décrit aussi l'évolution des relations entre les Québécois et les Algonquins. Ainsi Rémi Savard, un anthropologue qui a travaillé sur le film, nous donne cette description : «Ce n'est pas un film sur les Indiens, c'est un film sur nous».
- L'image manquante / The missing pictureMDC video disc
Watercolour portrait of Marie-Claire Blais by Mary Meigs / Une saison dans la vie de Marie-Claire Blais Brief Video
(Image may be subject to copyright)
Connect with us
