Allied Health Sciences (AHS): IPE/Accreditation

General Allied Health Sciences guide. See also, discipline-specific guides for the Allied Health Sciences.

IPE Standards in Accreditation for Allied Health Sciences

Interprofessional Education (IPE) Standards

in Allied Health Sciences (DAHS) Accreditation

updated 9/5/16—send updates to brrenner@email.unc.edu

Clinical Laboratory Science (CLS)

  • National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences Programs: http://www.naacls.org/
    • See Program Directors page for accreditation resources:  http://www.naacls.org/Program-Directors.aspx 
      • 2012 standards (updated 6/2016).  “NAACLS Standards for Accredited and Approved programs.” Adopted 2012, Revised through 4/2016.  Includes MLS, DLS, and other programs under NAACLS. 
        • “Principles of interpersonal and interdisciplinary communication and team-building skills” mentioned throughout, including pp 57, 61, 73, 80 of .pdf document.  These pages are specific to programs other than MLS or DLS.   
      • Other accreditation documents:  http://www.naacls.org/Other/Documents.aspx
  • MLS: accreditation information for Medical Laboratory Scientist(MLS) programs (2012 updated 6/2016)
    • Note: “Medical Laboratory Scientist” was previously known as Medical Technologist/MT or Clinical Laboratory Scientist/CLS.  Requires minimum 4-year degree and laboratory work in school (some programs require master’s degree). 
    • Description of the Medical Laboratory Scientist Profession, pages 9-10, includes, " Communications
      skills extend to consultative interactions with members of the healthcare team, external relations, customer service and patient education." Mention is also made of collaboration.
    • Description of Entry Level Competencies of the Medical Laboratory Scientist, page 10, mentions communication skills necessary for health care team and ability to train/educate others, including users and providers. 
    • For standards unique to MLS, only reference is p 15, A5 (Instructional Areas): "Communications sufficient to serve the needs of patients, the public and members of the health care team."
    • Similarly worded "unique standards" apply, also, for the Medical Laboratory Technician (MLT), Histotechnologist (HLT), Histotechnician (HT), Diagnostic Molecular Scientist (DMS), Cytotechnologist (CG), Pathologists' Assistant (PathA), Phlebotomist (PBT), and Clinical Assistant (CA) programs covered in the same document.
  • Guide to Accreditation for Doctorate Programs in Clinical Laboratory Science (10/2011)
    • Page 30 (curriculum):
      • #2: "Health care knowledge necessary to provide and coordinate patient care as
        impacted upon by laboratory testing."
      • #3:  "Patient assessment and participation in clinical experiences to include clinical
        rounds."
      • #5: "Interpersonal and communication skills necessary to function in direct patient
        care with diverse communities of patients and family members and with other
        health care practitioners (physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician
        assistants, etc.) as an independent provider of health care."

Clinical Rehabilitation and Mental Health Counseling

  • MS:  
  • Accredited by Council on Rehabilitation Education (CORE): http://www.core-rehab.org/
  • p4: C.1.1.a. “Explain professional roles, purposes, and relationships of other human service and counseling/psychological providers”
  • p13: C.9.6.b. “Consult with medical/health professionals regarding prognosis, prevention and wellness strategies for individuals with a disability”
  • p15: C.10.11.b. Collaborate with advocates and other service providers involved with the individual and/or the family.
  • Also accredited by Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Programs (CACREP): http://www.cacrep.org/

Section 1: H: “The institution provides information to students in the program about personal counseling services provided by professionals other than counselor education program faculty and students.”

Section 2: F. 1. C: “counselors’ roles and responsibilities as members of interdisciplinary community outreach and emergency management response teams”

Section 5:D.2.b: “relationships between clinical rehabilitation counselors and medical and allied health professionals, including interdisciplinary treatment teams”

Section 5:D.3.d: “strategies for interfacing with medical and allied health professionals, including interdisciplinary treatment teams”

Section 5:D.3.e: “strategies to consult with and educate employers, educators, and families regarding accessibility, Americans with Disabilities Act compliance, and accommodations”

Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy (OS & OT)

p2: “Be prepared to effectively communicate and work interprofessionally with those who provide care for individuals and/or populations in order to clarify each member’s responsibility in executing components of an intervention plan.

Standard B.5.21: ”Effectively communicate, coordinate, and work interprofessionally with those who provide services to individuals, organizations, and/or populations in order to clarify each member’s responsibility in executing components of an intervention plan.”

  • PhD:

p2: “Be prepared to effectively communicate and work interprofessionally with those who provide care for individuals and/or populations in order to clarify each member’s responsibility in executing components of an intervention plan.

Standard B.4.8: ”Interpret the evaluation data in relation to accepted terminology of the profession, relevant theoretical frameworks, and interdisciplinary knowledge.”

Standard B. 5.1: “Use evaluation findings to diagnose occupational performance and participation based on appropriate theoretical approaches, models of practice, frames of reference, and interdisciplinary knowledge.”

Standard B.5.21: ”Effectively communicate, coordinate, and work interprofessionally with those who provide services to individuals, organizations, and/or populations in order to clarify each member’s responsibility in executing components of an intervention plan.”

Physical Therapy (PT)

Competency 1: Values/Ethics for Interprofessional Practice: Work with individuals of other professions to maintain a climate of mutual respect and shared values.

Competency 2: Roles/Responsibilities: Use the knowledge of one’s own role and those of other professions to appropriately assess and address the health care needs of the patients and populations served.

Competency 3: Interprofessional Communication: Communicate with patients, families, communities, and other health professionals in a responsive and responsible manner that supports a team approach to the maintenance of health and the treatment of disease.

Competency 4: Teams and Teamwork: Apply relationship-building values and the principles of team dynamics to perform effectively in different team roles to plan and deliver patient-/population-centered care that is safe, timely, efficient, effective, and equitable.

p20: Standard 6F: “The didactic and clinical curriculum includes interprofessional education[1]; learning activities are directed toward the development of interprofessional competencies including, but not limited to, values/ethics, communication, professional roles and responsibilities, and teamwork. NOTE: this element will become effective January 1, 2018.”

p27: Standard 7D7: “Communicate effectively with all stakeholders, including patients/clients, family members, caregivers, practitioners, interprofessional team members, consumers, payers, and policymakers.”

p29: Standard 7D28: “Manage the delivery of the plan of care that is consistent with professional obligations, interprofessional collaborations, and administrative policies and procedures of the practice environment.”

p30: Standard 7D37: “Assess and document safety risks of patients and the healthcare provider and design and implement strategies to improve safety in the healthcare setting as an individual and as a member of the interprofessional healthcare team.”

p30: Standard 7D39: “Participate in patient-centered interprofessional collaborative practice.”

Contact:  Dr Carla Hill, PT,DPT,OCS,CertMDT;  carla_hill@med.unc.edu

Contact: Dr Dana McCarty, PT, DPT, PCS, C/NDT; dana_mccarty@med.unc.edu

Physician Assistant (PA)

p5: “Education should be provided in a manner that promotes interprofessional education and practice.”

p16: “The program curriculum prepares students to provide patient centered care and collegially work in physician-PA teams in an interprofessional team environment.”

p17: B1.08: “The curriculum must include instruction to prepare students to work collaboratively in interprofessional patient centered teams. ANNOTATION: Such instruction includes content on the roles and responsibilities of various health care professionals, emphasizing the team approach to patient centered care beyond the traditional physician-PA team approach. It assists students in learning the principles of interprofessional practice and includes opportunities for students to apply these principles in interprofessional teams within the curriculum.”

Radiologic Science

  • Medical Imaging (BS):
    • Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiological Technology: http://www.jrcert.org/
    • Standards 2014: http://www.jrcert.org/programs-faculty/jrcert-standards/
    • Doesn’t seem to include anything about interprofessional education
  • Radiography (Certificate):
    • Accredited by American Registry of Radiologic Technologists: https://www.arrt.org/Certification/Radiography (They don’t actually accredit the program, but they delineate the organizations that can-UNC’s program is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS). They also offer the certifying exam, content of which includes the professional code of ethics).
      • Code of Ethics item 10: “The radiologic technologist continually strives to improve knowledge and skills by participating in continuing education and professional activities, sharing knowledge with colleagues, and investigating new aspects of professional practice.”
  • Radiologist Assistant (Masters in Radiological Science):
    • Accredited by American Registry of Radiologic Technologists: https://www.arrt.org/Certification/Radiography (They don’t actually accredit the program, but they delineate the organizations that can-UNC’s program is accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS). They also offer the certifying exam, content of which includes the professional code of ethics).
      • Code of Ethics item 10: “The radiologic technologist continually strives to improve knowledge and skills by participating in continuing education and professional activities, sharing knowledge with colleagues, and investigating new aspects of professional practice.”

Speech and Hearing Science (SPHS)

Notes: 

  • Accreditation standards undergo frequent revision; check websites for updates.
  • Searching accreditation or standards documents often includes the need to search broadly for terms beyond IPE, interprofessional education, or inter-professional education, to include terms such as interpersonal communication, inter-personal communication, collaboration, consultation. 

[1]Interprofessional Education: Occurs when two or more professions learn with, from and about each other to improve collaboration and the quality of care. (WHO, 2002)

Support Research, Teaching, & Learning - Give to the HSL