Speech-Language Pathology: Research & Practice

Introduction, Steps, Web-based Tutorials, Evidence Maps, Evidence-based Systematic Reviews.

Evidence Maps put the latest evidence at your fingertips.
• See current and future (currently under development by ASHA/N-CEP) Evidence Maps
• Learn more about Evidence Maps and see what’s new
• Find additional EBP resources, including an introduction to Evidence-based Practice, online tutorials, a glossary, link to ASHA’s National Outcomes Measurement System (NOMS), and more.

A searchable online tool to assist with making evidence-based clinical decisions. Each Map highlights the importance of the 3 components of EBP—external scientific evidence, clinical expertise, and client perspectives—and provides the latest information related to the assessment, treatment, and service delivery. Evidence Maps provide clinicians with a quick synopsis of guidelines, systematic reviews, and individual client perspective studies.

Language, Speech, & Hearing in Schools. Oct 2006;37(4).

The Technical Assistance Center on Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports is established by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP). Emphasis is given to the impact of implementing PBIS on the social, emotional and academic outcomes for students with disabilities.

From the Joint Committee on Infant Hearing

The RTC is a major initiative of the Center for Evidence-Based Practices at the Orelena Hawks Puckett Institute. The RTC is funded by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP), Research-to-Practice Division.

Speech Pathology Database for Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy (speechBITE™) is a free searchable database that gives you access to the best evidence across all areas of speech pathology intervention.

Quick comparison of study types (Systematic Review, RCT, Non-RCT, Case Series, Single-case designs)

Center on the Social and Emotional Foundations for Early Learning (CSEFEL)

From the Department of Education, a source on what works in education.

PICO clarifies and focuses questions that arise during a patient assessment. It identifies and organizes the key aspects of a complex patient presentation to help you brainstorm keywords for your literature search, refine your search for the best results, and save time.

AHRQ is the health services research arm of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, complementing the biomedical research mission of the National Institutes of Health. The Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers & Systems (CAHPS) program is a public-private initiative to develop standardized surveys of patients experiences with ambulatory and facility-level care. The surveys offer national benchmarks for quality measures that are of interest to researchers and individual hospitals.

Helps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare.An international research network based on voluntary cooperation among researchers of a variety of backgrounds.

ECRI Institute, an independent, nonprofit patient safety organization, has launched the ECRI Guidelines Trust™, a portal to expertly vetted, evidence-based guideline briefs and scorecards.
ECRI Institute developed the new resource in response to urgent pleas from healthcare professionals after substantial federal funding cuts forced the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to shut down the National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC). ECRI had developed and maintained the NGC website for 20 years.

Rigorous and relevant evidence on which to ground education practice and policy from the Institute of Education Sciences' (IES), research arm of the US Department of Education.

This tutorial is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence Based Medicine. Developed by Duke University Medical Center Library and the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Detailed guidance discuss how to understand, evaluate, and implement and implement evidence-based practice from psychologists and psychiatrists. By Stout, C.E. & R.A. Hayes. John Wiley & Sons. 2005

From the University of Alberta, this is a collection of tools for identifying, assessing and applying relevant evidence for better health care decision-making.

Includes critical appraisal checklists for key study designs; glossary of key research terms; key links related to evidence based healthcare, statistics, and research; a bibliography of articles and research papers about CASP and other critical appraisal tools and approaches 1993-2012.

Scroll down resources page EBM guides and practice how-to's for researchers, clinicians, students and teachers.

From UNC and Duke University, this tutorial is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-Based Medicine

SUMSearch 2 simultaneoulsy searches for studies(original studies and systematic reviews), and practice guidelines.

Link to Test Compilations & Search Tools