Clinical Laboratory Science/Molecular Diagnostic Science: Databases
Core Databases for CLS/MDS Students
Medical, Drug and Patient Information
In addition to the drug information in ClincalKey and UptoDate, see these resources:
In addition to the patient education materials available in ClinicalKey, UptoDate and Micromedex, see these resources:
Why Use Multiple Databases?
Different databases focus on different areas of the literature, which is particularly true in MDS/CLS. A 2003 study of the clinical laboratory science literature (including molecular diagnostic science) indicated that, “Comprehensive coverage of the literature of the field can only be accomplished through the use of multiple bibliographic databases, although each of the various indexing services fills an important niche.” Reference: Delwiche, FA. Mapping the Literature of Clinical Laboratory Science. J Med Libr Assoc 91(3), July 2003, p 309.
Aids for Organizing Your Search
Use this guide to help visualize and plan your search:
- Purdue Libraries' Constructing a Search Statement handout
Use this log to keep your search organized and to document your search strategy for reporting:
Learn More about Using Databases
Don't forget, Ask-a-Librarian when you have difficulty finding what you're looking for in a database.
Don't forget, many databases have a link to help files as part of their search screens.
Boolean Basics for Searching
Boolean searching helps you find less (narrows) or find more (broadens) results when you search in many databases and Web search engines. Boolean searching depends on the use of three terms: AND, OR, and NOT. Enter these terms in ALL CAPS because many search engines are case sensitive for these terms.
Full Text Articles via Find@UNC
Includes Find@UNC in PubMed and what to do when the article is not online via Find@UNC.