Global Health Internships and Service Opportunities: Directories of Programs

Directories of Programs

American Medical Student Association (AMSA)
International Health Opportunities Directory

AMSA's web-based directory of international health opportunities
is searchable by country, region, opportunity type, and field of
practice.  The information in the directory is updated regularly.

American Medical Student Association
45610 Woodland Road Suite 300
Sterling, Virginia 20166
(Map
Phone: (703) 620-6600
Fax: (703) 620-6445
Email: amasa@amsa.org
FAIMER
FAIMER is a non-profit foundation with a commitment to improving global
health through the improvement of health professions education.  Efforts
are concentrated in developing regions in Latin America, Africa, and Asia. 
Information on various international programs can be found via the
International Medical Education Directory (IMED), with options to search
by experience type and location.  Fellowships also available.  
Foundation for the Advancement of International Medical Education and Research
3624 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
(Map)
Fax: (215) 966-3121
Email: inquiry@faimer.org
GoAbroad.com
GoAbroad.com provides access to comprehensive international education
and alternative travel databases.  Search by selection area of specialty,
i.e. "nursing", from the drop down box.
GoAbroad.com
2850 McClelland Drive Suite 2700
Fort Collins, CO 80524
(Map)
Phone: (720) 570-1702
Fax: (720) 570-1703
Email: info@goabroad.com
Idealist.org
Idealist contains information on internship and volunteer opportunities
across the globe.  Browse opportunities by location or organization.
Idealist also allows individualized searches.  A keyword search for
"medical" returns results for health internships and volunteer opportunities. 
Searches can be narrowed by country.
Action Without Borders/Idealist.org
302 Fifth Avenue, 11th Floor
New York, NY 10001
(Map)
Phone: (646) 786-7243
Fax: (212) 695-7243
Email: support@idealist.org
International Volunteer Programs Association (IVPA)
IVPA is compromised of non-governmental organizations involved in
international volunteer work and internship exchanges, each with
their own programs.  Programs are searchable by region, country,
type of work, and project duration.
International Volunteer Programs Association
P.O. Box 17351
Minneapolis, MN 55417
info@volunteerinternational.org
Institute of International Education (IIE)
IIE contains information on over 5,000 international grants,
fellowships, and short-term study programs for U.S. students
and professionals.  Programs and services encompass a wide
range of activities in support of human resource development. 
It includes information on Fulbright Student and Scholar programs. 
The IIEPassport has an extensive searchable study abroad directory.  
Institute of International Education (IIE)
1400 K Street NW Suite 700
Washington, DC 20005
(Map)
Phone: (202) 898-0600
Fax: (202) 326-7754
Quaker Information Center Volunteer and Service Organizations
Four lists present over 300 volunteer and service opportunities, both
domestic and international, some of which include health programs. 
Only one of the lists is limited to participants who are Quaker. 
The Quakers have a long history of international public service
through the American Friends Service Committee.  
Quaker Information Center
228 College Avenue
Richmond, IN 47374
(Map)
Phone: (800) 432-1377
Email: info@quakerinfo.org
Sigma Theta Tau International Volunteer Opportunities
Sigma Theta Tau International has put together a listing of volunteer
opportunities in health care, as well as some general opportunities worldwide. 
This site also contains information on Sigma Theta Tau membership programs,
achievement awards, learning, and affecting change for nurses worldwide.
Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing
550 West North Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
(Map)
Phone: (888) 634-7575
Phone: (317) 634-8171 (International)
Fax: (317) 634-8188
Email: memserv@stti.org
StudyAbroad.com
Study Abroad contains listings for thousands of study abroad programs in
more than 100 countries throughout the world.  It includes short-term and
academic year programs for students in many difference disciplines,
including nursing.  
StudyAbroad.com
3803 West Chester Park Suite 125
Newtown Square, PA 19073
(Map)
Phone: (484) 766-2920
Fax: (610) 499-9205
Email: webmaster@studyabroad.com
Connect-123 Internship and Volunteer Programs
To date, they have worked with students from over 300 universities. 
They have also formed successful partnerships with several US-based
universities and can develop customized programs in Barcelona, Buenos 
Aires, Cape Town, Dublin, and Shanghai around specific requirements.
Connect-123
3 Seal Harbor Drive #445
Winthrop, MA 02152
(Map)
Phone: (800) 731-6406
Fax: (617) 904-1915
Email: info@connect-123.com

 

Support Research, Teaching, & Learning - Give to the HSL