Mobile Health & Research Apps at UNC

UNC subscribed mobile apps for medical and health practice and research

Accessing Mobile Health Apps at UNC

This page provides Access Instructions for mobile resources to which Health Sciences Library subscribes.  The following process will provide access to most of the apps, with app specific instructions below.

  • Typically, you will need to first create a personal account using the desktop version of the resource
  • Follow the directions given by either the app store of your choice OR the resource website itself
  • Renew your access periodically by either:
    • Logging into your personal account using the web browser while on campus or through VPN
    • Using the app while connected to the UNC Chapel Hill campus (NOT the Hospital) network

Please email an HSL Librarian if you need assistance.

AccessMedicine

  1. Go to AccessMedicine on your desktop. 
  2. Click the "University of North Carolina" button on the top right. Select "Login or Create Free Personal Account."
  3. Click "Don't have a MyAccess account?" and enter your information to create an account. 
  4. Download the AccessMedicine app from your app store and use your newly created username and password to log in.
  5. To maintain access, you must sign in to AccessMedicine every 90 days through the UNC-Chapel Hill network, either on-site or through a VPN. 
  6. For more support, visit the Unbound Medicine Support page

BrowZine

  1. BrowZine Access Instructions
    1. Note: Update your login within its "Settings" tab whenever you update your Onyen password.

ClinicalKey

Access Clinical Key on your mobile device using one of these two options: 

  1. Mobile-Optimized Website; comprehensive option includes all Clinical Key content. Requires active web connection.
  2. ClinicalKey App

Initial Use and Authentication Instructions

  1. You must first create a personal account within ClinicalKey
  2. Open ClinicalKey
  3. At the top right of the ClinicalKey page, click Register to create a personal account
  4. On your iOS or Android device, visit the App or Google Play store
  5. Search for "ClinicalKey" and install the free ClinicalKey app on your device
  6. After downloading the app, select the option ‘I use ClinicalKey and know my user name’ and enter your ClinicalKey user name and password to start using the ClinicalKey app.

EBSCO Database Collections

Access EBSCO's many databases on your mobile device using one of these two options: 

  1. Mobile-Optimized Website – The most comprehensive option includes all databases. Requires a web connection.
  2. EBSCO App – Includes all databases in use when first installed.

Initial Use and Authentication Instructions

  1. Go to Academic Search Complete on your desktop or mobile browser.
    1. Note: This will create an app that includes ALL of the Ebsco databases we have access to, including CINAHL and PsycINFO, but if you start anywhere else, it will not.
  2. Click the link that says, "iphone and android apps" at the very bottom of the screen.
  3. Enter your email address to be sent a link that will allow you to create an app.
  4. Open your email on your mobile device - iPad, iPhone, or Android.
  5. Follow the instructions to install the app on your mobile device.

F1000 Prime App

Access F1000 Prime on your mobile device using one of these two options:

  1. Mobile-Optimized Website - Permits you to use all features. Requires web connection.
  2. F1000 App - Full availability of browsable recommendations; not customizable. Requires wifi connection.

Initial App Use and Authentication Instructions

  1. Create a user account on F1000 Prime's web version.
    • This account will allow you to save articles and set notifications to your interests on the web version.
  2. Next, visit the Apple App Store or Google Play Store to download the F1000 app.
  3. Use your F1000 Prime personal account to activate the mobile app.

First Consult

Access Clinical Key or First Consult on your mobile device using one of these two options: 

  1. Mobile-Optimized Website; comprehensive option includes all Clinical Key content. Requires active web connection.
  2. First Consult App; includes the point of care module and is usable offline

Initial Use and Authentication Instructions

  1. You must first create a personal account within Clinical Key
  2. Open Clinical Key
  3. At the top right of the Clinical Key page, click Register to create a personal account
  4. On your iOS or Android device, visit the App or Google Play store
  5. Search for "First Consult" and install the free First Consult app on your device
  6. After downloading the app, select the option ‘I use First Consult and know my user name’ and enter your ClinicalKey user name and password to start using the First Consult app.

JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiments

Access JoVE on your mobile device: 

  1. Create a personal JoVE account on the JoVE website using your UNC email address.
  2. Confirm the registration in your email account.
  3. Download the app from the Apple app or Google Play stores.
  4. Log in to the app on your device with your UNC email address and JoVE password

The Medical Letter

Access the Medical Letter on Drugs & Therapeutics using a mobile app :

  1. Open the Medical Letter on Drugs & Therapeutics from the Library site
  2. Click on the Mobile Apps link on the left side menu on the screen
  3. Fill out the information to create a personal user login and password
  4. Find the Medical Letter in your preferred app store from your smartphone or tablet
  5. Install it
  6. Login using your newly created Medical Letter ID

mobile Micromedex Drug Essentials

Access Micromedex Drug Essentials on your mobile device using one of these two options: 

  1. Web Browser – The most comprehensive option (recommended for pharmacy students) includes all add on tools, references, and drug images. Requires a web connection. 
  2. Drug Essentials App – Includes drug summary information but not add on tools and references. Can be used offline. 

Initial Use and Authentication Instructions:

You will need a password to download or update Micromedex, which you can get one of two ways:

  1. Contact the Library using your UNC email address and request it.
  2. Go to the Micromedex website while on campus
    • Click the "Download Center" link at the lower right hand side of the screen.
    • Follow the relevant directions for your device. The required passwords will be listed within the instructions. 
  3. You will need to update the password when the publisher posts a new one once per quarter.
  4. Note: Our subscription only gives access to the Drug Essentials module app.
    • If you would like to also have any of the many additional Micromedex module apps, you may pay for a year of access to each app through the relevant app store.

Red Book Online

  1. Go to Red Book Online on your desktop. 
  2. Click the "Log In/ Log Out" link on the top left.
  3. Click "Sign In for Individuals." 
  4. Click "New Customer Registration."
    1. Follow the prompts.
    2. When asked who you are creating an account for, click "Individual".
    3. Fill out the form with your information. 
  5. You will receive a confirmation email with an AAP ID. This will be your login ID.
  6. Download the Red Book Online  app from your app store and use the AAP ID and the password you created to log into the website and the app. 
    1. There may be a lag of up to 20 minutes before the app will allow you to login after first creating your AAP ID.
  7. To maintain access, you must sign in to Red Book Online  every 180 days through the UNC-Chapel Hill network, either on-site or through a VPN. 

For more support, visit the Red Book Mobile Download page.

UpToDate

  1. Go to UpToDate
    • On a desktop computer, click on the Log In / Register button in the upper right corner. Fill in the Register (New User) form and Submit Registration.
    • On a mobile device, click the Login button in the upper left corner and then scroll down. Fill in the Register (New User) form and Submit Registration.
    • You will receive a confirmation email after submitting your form.
  2. From your mobile device, go to the Google Play Store, Apple App Store, or Windows Store and download the UpToDate app.
    • If you have trouble finding the app in the store, use the browser on your mobile device to go to http://www.uptodate.com/home/uptodate-mobile-access and use the appropriate download link.
    • Use the login information you created in Step #1 to access the app from your mobile device.
    • You will be asked to Review and Accept the Subscription License Agreement.
  3. You must verify your affiliation with UNC by logging into UpToDate via a web browser at least once every 90 days.
    • You will need to enter your Onyen and password if you are accessing this link from off campus.
    • In-application messages and emails will notify you when you need to re-verify and you can check the date for this by viewing Account Info within the app.  

VisualDx

  1. Go to VisualDx (Students, faculty, and staff or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-CH with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from off-campus).
  2. Click on "Get our free app on your iPhone, iPad, or Android device."
  3. Complete the registration form and click "Submit."
  4. You will then receive an email from VisualDx which will provide you with further instructions for downloading and accessing the mobile apps.
Support Research, Teaching, & Learning - Give to the HSL