HSL home
HSL is excited to announce Covidence, for teaching and conducting systematic reviews! Find out more here.

Evidence Based Dentistry

Web Sites

Books

ADA Clinical Guidelines Handbook (2013 Update) provides instructions for the process of developing clinical practice guidelines.

Evidence-based decision making : a translational guide for dental professionals. 2009. HSL Call Number: WU 29 E928 2009. Check availability.

Evidence-based dentistry : managing information for better practice. 2008. HSL Call Number: WU 100 E93 2008. Check availability.

Hackshaw, Allan K., Elizabeth A. Paul and Elizabeth S. Davenport. Evidence-based dentistry : an introduction. 2006. HSL Call Number: WU 20.5 H123e 2006. Check availability.

Smeeton, N. C. Dental statistics made easy. 2005. HSL Call Number: WA 950 S637d 2005. Check availability.

"A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry" series from the Journal of the American Dental Association

(Click on title for UNC-CH full text access.)

Brignardello-Petersen R, Carrasco-Labra A, Glick M, Guyatt GH, Azarpazhooh A. A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: understanding and applying the principles of EBD. Journal of the American Dental Association. 2014 Nov;145(11):1105-7. doi:10.14219/jada.2014.102.

Brignardello-Petersen R, Carrasco-Labra A, Booth HA, Glick M, Guyatt GH,Azarpazhooh A, Agoritsas T. A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: How to search for evidence to inform clinical decisions. Journal of the American Dental Association. 2014 Dec;145(12):1262-7. doi: 10.14219/jada.2014.113.

Brignardello-Petersen R, Carrasco-Labra A, Glick M, Guyatt GH, Azarpazhooh A. A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: III: how to appraise and use an article about therapy. Journal of the American Dental Association. 2015 Jan;146(1):42-49.e1. doi:10.1016/j.adaj.2014.11.010.

Brignardello-Petersen R, Carrasco-Labra A, Glick M, Guyatt GH, Azarpazhooh A. A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: IV: how to use an article about harm. Journal of the American Dental Association. 2015 Feb;146(2):94-101.e1. doi:10.1016/j.adaj.2014.12.002.

Brignardello-Petersen R, Carrasco-Labra A, Glick M, Guyatt GH, Azarpazhooh A. A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: V: how to appraise and use an article about diagnosis. Journal of the American Dental Association. 2015 Mar;146(3):184-191.e1. doi:10.1016/j.adaj.2015.01.011.

Carrasco-Labra A, Brignardello-Petersen R, Glick M, Guyatt GH, Azarpazhooh A. A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: VI: How to use a systematic review. Journal of the American Dental Association. 2015 Apr;146(4):255-65.e1. doi:10.1016/j.adaj.2015.01.025.

Carrasco-Labra A, Brignardello-Petersen R, Glick M, Guyatt GH, Neumann I,Azarpazhooh A. A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: VII: How to use patient management recommendations from clinical practice guidelines. Journal of the American Dental Association. 2015 May;146(5):327-336.e1. doi: 10.1016/j.adaj.2015.03.015.

Sale JE, Amin M, Carrasco-Labra A, Brignardello-Petersen R, Glick M, GuyattGH, Azarpazhooh A. A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry: VIII: How to appraise an article based on a qualitative study. Journal of the American Dental Association. 2015 Aug;146(8):623-30. doi: 10.1016/j.adaj.2015.06.010.

"A practitioner's guide to developing critical appraisal skills" series from JADA

(Click on title for UNC-CH full text access.)

Brignardello-Petersen R, Carrasco-Labra A, Shah P, Azarpazhooh A. A practitioner's guide to developing critical appraisal skills: what is the difference between clinical and statistical significance? Journal of the American Dental Association 144, no. 7 (2013):780-6.

Needleman I, Clarkson J, Worthington H. A practitioner's guide to developing critical appraisal skills: reviews of research. Journal of the American Dental Association 144, no. 5 (2013):527-30.

Barnett ML, Pihlstrom BL. A practitioner's guide to developing critical appraisal skills: interventional studies. Journal of the American Dental Association 143, no. 10 (2012):1114-9.

Matthews DC, Hujoel PP. A practitioner's guide to developing critical appraisal skills: observational studies. Journal of the American Dental Association 143, no.7 (2012):784-6.

Abt E, Bader JD, Bonetti D. A practitioner's guide to developing critical appraisal skills: translating research into clinical practice. Journal of the American Dental Association  143, no.4 (2012):386-90.

Abt E, Pihlstrom BL. A practitioner's guide to developing critical appraisal skills: the fundamentals of research. Journal of the American Dental Association 143, no.1 (2012):54-6.

"Understanding the jigsaw of evidence-based dentistry" series from Evidence-Based Dentistry

(Click on title for UNC-CH full text access.)

Pitts, N. Understanding the jigsaw of evidence-based dentistry: 1. Introduction, research and synthesis. Evidence-based dentistry 5, no. 1 (2004):2-4.

Pitts, N. Understanding the jigsaw of evidence-based dentistry. 2. Dissemination of research results. Evidence-based dentistry 5, no. 2 (2004):33-35.

Pitts, N. Understanding the jigsaw of evidence-based dentistry. 3. Implementation of research findings in clinical practice. Evidence-based dentistry 5, no. 3 (2004):60-64.
 

"Study design" series from Evidence-Based Dentistry

(Click on title for UNC-CH full text access.)

Levin, K. A. Study design I. Evidence-based dentistry 6, no. 3 (2005):78-79.

Levin, K. A. Study design II: Issues of chance, bias, confounding and contamination. Evidence-based dentistry 6, no. 4 (2005):102-103.

Levin, K. A. Study design III: Cross-sectional studies. Evidence-based dentistry 7, no. 1 (2006):24-25.

Levin, K. A. Study design IV: Cohort studies. Evidence-based dentistry 7, no. 2 (2006):51-52.

Levin, K. A. Study design V: Case-control studies. Evidence-based dentistry 7, no. 3 (2006):83-84.

Levin, K. A. Study design VI: Ecological studies. Evidence-based dentistry 7, no. 4 (2006):108.

Levin, K. A. Study design VII: Randomised controlled trials. Evidence-based dentistry 8, no. 1 (2007):22-3.

"Understanding statistics" series from Evidence-Based Dentistry.

(Click on title for UNC-CH full text access.)

Abt E. Understanding statistics 1. Evidence-based dentistry 11, no.2 (2010):60-1.

Abt E. Understanding statistics 2. Evidence-based dentistry 11, no.3 (2010):93-4.

Abt E. Understanding statistics 3. Evidence-based dentistry 11, no.4 (2010):118.

Abt E. Understanding statistics 4. Evidence-based dentistry 12, no.1 (2011):25-7.

Abt E. Understanding statistics 5. Evidence-based dentistry 12, no.2 ( 2011):57-8.

"Evidence-based dentistry " series from the Journal of the Canadian Dental Association

(Click on title for freely available full text.)

Sutherland, S. E. Evidence-based dentistry: Part I. Getting started. Journal of the Canadian Dental Association 67, no. 4 (2001):204-206

Sutherland, S. E. Evidence-based dentistry: Part II. Searching for answers to clinical questions: how to use MEDLINE. Journal of the Canadian Dental Association 67, no. 5 (2001):277-280.

Sutherland, S. E., and S. Walker. Evidence-based dentistry: Part III. Searching for answers to clinical questions: finding evidence on the Internet. Journal of the Canadian Dental Association 67, no. 6 (2001):320-323.

Sutherland, S. E. Evidence-based dentistry: Part IV. Research design and levels of evidence. Journal of the Canadian Dental Association 67, no. 7 (2001):375-378.

Sutherland, S. E. Evidence-based dentistry: Part V. Critical appraisal of the dental literature: papers about therapy. Journal of the Canadian Dental Association 67, no. 8 (2001):442-445.

Sutherland, S. E. Evidence-based Dentistry: Part VI. Critical Appraisal of the Dental Literature: Papers About Diagnosis, Etiology and Prognosis. Journal of the Canadian Dental Association 67, no. 10 (2001):582-585.

"Research in primary dental care" series from the British Dental Journal:

(Click on title for UNC-CH full text access.)

Newton, J. T., E. J. Bower, and A. C. Williams. Research in primary dental care. Part 1: Setting the scene. British dental journal 196, no. 9 (2004):523-526.

Newton, J. T., E. J. Bower, and A. C. Williams. Research in primary dental care. Part 2: Developing a research question. British dental journal 196, no. 10 (2004):605-608.

Williams, A. C., E. J. Bower, and J. T. Newton. Research in primary dental care part 3: Designing your study. British dental journal 196, no. 11 (2004):669-674.

Williams, A. C., E. J. Bower, and J. T. Newton. Research in primary dental care part 4: measures. British dental journal 196, no. 12 (2004):739-746.

Bower, E. J., J. T. Newton, and A. C. Williams. Research in primary dental care. Part 5: devising a proposal, obtaining funding and ethical considerations. British dental journal 197, no. 1 (2004):17-19

Williams, A. C., E. J. Bower, and J. T. Newton. Research in primary dental care Part 6: Data analysis. British dental journal 197, no. 2 (2004):67-73.

"Further statistics in dentistry" series from the British Dental Journal:

(Click on title for UNC-CH full text access.)

Moles, D. Further statistics in dentistry: Introduction. British dental journal 193, no. 7 (2002):377-380.

Petrie, A., J. S. Bulman, and J. F. Osborn. Further statistics in dentistry: Part 1: Research designs 1. British dental journal 193, no. 7 (2002):377-380.

Petrie, A., J. S. Bulman, and J. F. Osborn. Further statistics in dentistry. Part 2: Research designs 2. British dental journal 193, no. 8 (2002):435-440.

Petrie, A., J. S. Bulman, and J. F. Osborn. Further statistics in dentistry. Part 3: Clinical trials 1. British dental journal 193, no. 9 (2002):495-498.

Petrie, A., J. S. Bulman, and J. F. Osborn. Further statistics in dentistry. Part 4: Clinical trials 2. British dental journal 193, no. 10 (2002):557-561.

Petrie, A., J. S. Bulman, and J. F. Osborn. Further statistics in dentistry, Part 5: Diagnostic tests for oral conditions. British dental journal 193, no. 11 (2002):621-625.

Petrie, A., J. S. Bulman, and J. F. Osborn. Further statistics in dentistry. Part 6: Multiple linear regression. British dental journal 193, no. 12 (2002):675-682.

Petrie, A., J. S. Bulman, and J. F. Osborn. Further statistics in dentistry. Part 7: repeated measures. British dental journal 194, no. 1 (2003):17-21.

Petrie, A., J. S. Bulman, and J. F. Osborn. Further statistics in dentistry Part 8: Systematic reviews and meta-analyses. British dental journal 194, no. 2 (2003):73-78.

Petrie, A., J. S. Bulman, and J. F. Osborn. Further statistics in dentistry. Part 9: Bayesian statistics.British dental journal 194, no. 3 (2003):129-134.

Osborn, J. F., J. S. Bulman, and A. Petrie. Further statistics in dentistry. Part 10: Sherlock Holmes, evidence and evidence-based dentistry.British dental journal 194, no. 4 (2003):189-195.

Support Research, Teaching, & Learning - Give to the HSL