Chinese Ethnic Groups: Books and Articles
UNC catalog search
Searchable using Chinese as well as a romanized script for Chinese resources. All the computers in Davis Library are able to input Chinese scripts.
Suggested subject Headings
Reference Works
-Chinese-
- 中国少数民族文化大辞典Very comprehensive dictionary in a five-volume set. It includes 25,000 terms related to minority groups. The five volumes are grouped by geographical locations, which include the Northeast & Inner Mongolian region, Southwest, Central area, Southeast, and Northwest.
- 中國民族學與民俗學硏究論著目錄A comprehensive bibliography of books and articles on Chinese minority studies from 1900 to 1994.
- 中華民族風俗辞典A compact dictionary on the culture of Chinese ethnic groups. It covers holidays, folk traditions, name origins, marriage, regional law, economy, transportation, cuisine, costumes, religions, taboos, music and sports.
-English-
- China‘s minority nationalitiesIt contains maps of minority distribution in China. Each minority nationality is given a separate chapter describing its population, history, culture, language and customs.
- Portraits of China byThe book features Lunda Hoyle Gill's fifty six paintings of Chinese nationalities with texts written by Colin Mackerras.
- Operation China : introducing all the peoples of ChinaAn up-to-date and comprehensive introduction to Chinese minority groups written by a native of New Zealand. It contains large number of photographs, charts and maps. It's a " remarkable graphic visualization of the urgent reality of unreached people"- Dr.Ralph Winter, Founder, a U.S. center for world mission.
Books
- Chinese -
Politics
Culture
Education
- English -
General
Politics & Economics
Culture
Relevant English Databases/websites
Off-campus access to some resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.
More databases can also be found at East Asian Studies.
Relevant Chinese Databases
Off-campus access to some resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.
More databases can also be found at East Asian Studies.
Other Free E-Journals
Taiwan
- 國立臺灣師範大學機構典藏National Taiwan Normal University Institutional Dispository
- National Taiwan University Journal Database
- 臺灣語言學期刊 Taiwan Journal of Linguistics
East Asian Gateway Services
In the U.S., you can use Gateway Services, a free delivery service for full-text Chinese language academic publications held by libraries in China, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Japan. Use the following indexes for articles:
