Allied Health Sciences Scholarships, Fellowships, Grants, & Awards

Resources, hints, advice, and tools (including lots of links) for Allied Health Sciences and other students.

Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC)

Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC)
Available for UNC Chapel Hill Faculty, Staff and Student access; use Onyen / Password when off-campus.

Register by creating your own user name and password for this site.

Answer questions about yourself, your family, and your activities to narrow your search results to ones that match your qualifications. You are free to omit any information you do not wish to provide; however, this may result in certain funding sources being omitted from your personal results.  See the Privacy Policy to learn how publisher Gale/Cengage Learning uses your personal information, how to find out more, and how to be removed from their mailing lists (if you wish).

Not from UNC? Check with your school, college or public library or use the freely available CareerOneStop Scholarship Search below.

CareerOneStop Scholarship and Financial Aid Tools

Freely available tools from the U. S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration.

CareerOneStop Scholarship Search Tool
Search more than 7,000 scholarships, fellowships, loans, and other financial aid opportunities. Search by Category or Keyword. See the Scholarship Search Help linked on the bottom bar for more information.

Prepare to Use the CareerOneStop Financial Aid Advisor
Go directly to CareerOnestop Financial Aid Advisor
The Financial Aid Advisor helps you fund your career pathway. Answer a brief list of questions to see what you might qualify for, where to go for more complete information on eligibility, and how to apply.  Use the Financial Aid Advisor to discover the many changes affecting the 2013-2014 school year. See Financial Aid Advisor Help on bar at bottom of search tool for additional information.

InfoEd SPIN Plus Funding Database

InfoEd Global's SPIN Plus is a comprehensive funding opportunities database. UNC researchers, administrators, postdocs, and graduate students can search over 40,000 funding opportunities from more than 10,000 federal, public, non-profit, and private sponsors. Registered users can access the database from off campus or over VPN, set up search preferences, organize funding opportunities, and sign up for email notifications.

SPIN Plus is available now across campus from The Office of Research Development. Register a SPIN Plus profile to take advantage of SPIN’s customization features. To get started, visit https://spin.infoedglobal.com and select Sign In from the top right corner. Additional information and resources are available at http://unc.live/2vUXtPu.

COS Pivot (being phased out by November 1, 2017--being replaced by SPIN)

COS Pivot via UNC Funding Information Portal
You must be affiliated with an institution that subscribes to Pivot and use your affiliated email address to create an account. You need an account for off-campus access to the database.

Being phased out by November 1, 2017, and replaced at UNC by InfoEd SPIN Plus database. 

COS Pivot is a comprehensive, editorially maintained database of worldwide funding opportunities. Individual researchers rely on it to identify funding information as it relates to research, collaborative activities, travel, curriculum development, conferences, fellowships, post-doctoral positions, equipment acquisition, operating and capital expenses, and more. Records include the following information: Sponsor, Title, Abstract, Deadline/Amount, Eligibility, Descriptor, Activity Location, Citizenship, Funding Type, Sponsor Type.
User Guides for UNC Chapel Hill users and Pivot Documentation provided on the COS Pivot access page.

This resource is  made available to current UNC faculty, staff, and students by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research. If you are affiliated with another academic institution, please check to see if it provides access.

Print Directories in UNC-CH Libraries

In the Health Sciences Library (HSL) Reference Section

  • Money for Graduate Students in the Health Sciences, 2010-2012
    W 20 S338m 2010, HSL Reference
    Table of Contents and Introduction for this title; includes directory purpose and sample entry (PDF).
  • Money for Graduate Students in the Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2010-2012
    LB 2337.2 S338m 2010, HSL Reference
  • Financial Aid for the Disabled and their Families, 2010-2012
    HV 1553 F491 2010-2012, HSL Reference

All Reference books are in-library use only.
HSL Reference is on the first floor of the library near the User Services Desk.
Contact Reference Services Press to purchase these and similiar directories.

These directories feature fellowships, grants, awards, and other funding programs with a focus on:

  • "Free" money programs not loans or service programs
  • Larger funding programs >$1000
  • Portable programs not linked to a specific school

Entries include: purpose, eligibility, financial data, duration, special features, limitations, number awarded, application date, contact information with websites when available.

Find entries by: program purpose (study/training vs. research/creative), subject, sponsoring organization, program title, where you live, where you want to study, deadline date.

 

In the Graduate Funding Information Center

Additional Financial Aid Information Sources

Support Research, Teaching, & Learning - Give to the HSL