Advanced Astronomy: Books

A guide to resources for research in astronomy at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Science Libraries Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

UNC catalog search with Links

   

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Electronic Access

The Astronomical Almanac
This provides current and accurate astronomical data for observing and other general uses.

The Online Books Page (University of Pennsylvania)
This source provides links to approximately 70 free online books on astronomy topics. The site also offers searching and browsing by title and author.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The Astronomical Almanac
This provides current and accurate astronomical data for observing and other general uses.

Cambridge Illustrated Dictionary of Astronomy
This dictionary includes around 1300 entries illustrated by hundreds of color photographs from space missions and major observatories.

Encyclopedia of Planetary Sciences
Designed for a broad audience, this single-volume encyclopedia attempts to provide comprehensive coverage of the planetary sciences.

Encyclopedia of Space Science and Technology
This encyclopedia consists of nearly 80 articles about the technology and scientific results of space exploration. The entries are written by people who have been involved in space exploration and are highly technical.

History of Astronomy: An Encyclopedia
This encyclopedia provides historical overviews and biographies, and it addresses the social history of astronomy, the history of observatories, and astronomy in various national contexts. The focus is on the last three to four hundred years, but brief articles covering earlier periods are also included.