Advanced Astronomy: Web Resources

A guide to resources for research in astronomy at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Web Sites

History of Astronomy (Germany)
Created in January 1995 on behalf of the Working Group for the History of Astronomy in the Astronomische Gesellschaft, an international society for German-speaking astronomers. Since March 1998 this site has also been maintained on behalf of Commission 41 (History of Astronomy) of the International Astronomical Union.

Planetary Data System (PDS) (NASA)
The Planetary Data System (PDS) provides scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.

SIMBAD, VIZIER, ALADIN (Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg)
This academic resource offers multiple reference sites for Astronomy Research relevant to a wide range of skill levels. The SIMBAD astronomical database is a great source for astronomical objects outside the solar system. VIZIER offers the researcher access to the most complete library of published astronomical catalogues and data tables available on line. Finally, Aladin is as defined on the website: "particularly useful for multi-spectral cross-identifications of astronomical sources, observation, preparation, and quality control of new data sets."

Skyview: The Internet's Virtual Telescope (NASA)
Skyview is a user-driven image generator that presents customized images of any portion of the sky from a variety of surveys and in seven wavelengths.

NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database
A good source for the researcher in search of data. The site boasts having at least basic data for more than seven and a half million extragalactic sources and gives more than 2.5 Million Bibliographic references. The NASA / IPAC extragalactic database has searchable, downloadable data on red shift and extragalactic objects. In addition to data, this database is home to a wealth of review articles, journal abstracts, thesis abstracts, images, and term glossary.

Librarian Profile

David Romito
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
Kenan Science Library
G301 Venable Hal
(919) 843-5811
Website / Blog Page