GenderWatch (enlarging the scope of Women 'R') is a full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. The database provides coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's daily lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure. GenderWatch contains a significant body of archival material dating back to the mid 1970's. Additional archival material continues to be added, making GenderWatch a repository of information providing an historical perspective on the evolution of women's and gender issues over the last fifteen to twenty years. (Source: vendor website.)
An interdisciplinary database covering women's issues worldwide. Women's Studies International is an interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1972-present), Women's Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-1995), The History of Women and Science, Health, and Technology: A Bibliographic Guide to the Professions and Disciplines (1970-1995), Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography (1995), Women, Race, and Ethnicity: A Bibliography (1970-1990), WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies (1985-1990), and POPLINE Subset on Women (1964-present). NISC will add new databases as they become available.
The ASAP version of Expanded Academic Index adds full-text for many titles. The database integrates core titles in every major academic concentration, including astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications and the general sciences; area-specific and issue-specific journals; academic journals with application in the professions; and publications with national news coverage and commentary. (Source: vendor website.)
PAIS International indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations, and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world. Electronic publications and Websites are also indexed. (Source: vendor website.)
Multi-disciplinary database with academic, trade, and general-interest journals, many of which are full text. Also includes the full-text of the New York Times and podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and the CBC.
• Information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.
• Provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
Academic Search Premier provides information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.
Over 2,000 journals are fully covered, and an additional 3,000 are selectively covered. More than 2,000 books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports are also covered. Subjects include: cartography, hydrology, climatology, meteorology, energy, paleontology, environment, petrology, geochemistry, photogrammetry, geomorphology, sedimentology, geophysics, volcanology. (Source: vendor website.)
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS) database indexes journal articles, books, 'grey literature,' and freely available web sites that provide information about the nations and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa.
"...written from a regional perspective from partner news agencies in the Middle East. It is a comprehensive source for news and opinion that is coming directly from the Arab World." It includes stories written in English from many different Middle East News Agencies (source: LexisNexis website).
It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database. The following national newspapers are included in this resource:
See ARTstor’s complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library’s ARTstor guide.