Covers all aspects of cities, their suburbs, and other urban areas. Includes urban economics, urban planning, urban architecture, urban ecology, urban transportation systems, urban politics, and urban social relations.
Access data from the Decennial Census (1990 forward), the Economic Census (1997 forward), Annual Population Estimates (2006 forward), Annual Economic Surveys (2003 forward), and American Community Survey data (test data through 2004 and all ACS data from 2005 forward).
Each edition supersedes the previous one. For various nationalities data is provided in the following categories: Geography; People; Government; Economy; Communications; Transportation; Military and Transnational Issues.
What is in this guide?
This guide points to important sources of reliable information that will be useful in completing the research assignment for Urban Anthropology.
Academic Search Premier provides information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.
It has current issues over 20 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications--including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly--and complete web archives of all AAA journals.
Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to present for biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore; and material culture with content from over 5,870 sources.
America History and Life, is an index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 600,000 bibliographic entries. Historical Abstracts, covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Published since 1955, it contains annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square; nearly 800,000 entries in all.
Approximately 2500 journals in 30 different languages from about 55 countries are scanned for inclusion, covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Journals published by sociological associations, groups, faculties, and institutes, and periodicals containing the term 'sociology' in their titles, are abstracted fully, irrespective of language or country of publication. Non-core journals are screened for articles by sociologists and/or articles of immediate interest or relevance to sociologists.
PAIS International indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations, and most other forms of printed literature from all over the world. Electronic publications and Websites are also indexed. (Source: vendor website.)
The journal of the Society for Urban, National and Transnational/Global Anthropology, promotes debate and conceptual development in urban, national, and transnational anthropology, particularly in their interrelationships