Resources on Botanical Illustration: Electronic Resources

Science Libraries Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Articles+

Using Find @ UNC

If an article search indicates we don't have an item:

1) Click the button.

2) If available, click an article link, if not, click the journal link.

3) Can't find it? Request it from another library through Interlibrary Loan.

E-Journals

Botanical Magazine (Curtis's Botanical Magazine)
This important British periodical described and illustrated flowering plants. Founded in 1787, it continues to be published (under Curtis's Botanical Magazine) to this day.

Browse Botany journals available at UNC-Chapel Hill. 

Browse Art journals available at UNC-Chapel Hill. 

Databases

Register of Original Botanical Art
As the Register introduction states, "This preliminary guide attempts to record the location of original botanical paintings and drawings from any time period done in traditional media such as watercolor, pastel, ink or pencil mostly in public collections." The register includes information about artworks located around the United States, including works from the UNC Herbarium collection. 

Catalog of Botanical Illustrations, Department of Botany, Smithsonian Institution
This is the online catalog of botanical illustration from The Department of Botany of the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History. It currently offers 500 images in three completed families: Bromeliaceae, Cactaceae, and Melastomataceae.

ISI Citation Databases (Web of Science)
This is a good starting point for those seeking scientific journal articles about botanical illustration. This database makes the Science Citation Index Expanded and BIOSIS Previews available, and it can be searched using a number of different techniques. Among them are the Cited Reference Search in which you can trace scholarly citations through searching an article's bibliography. Keyword, author, and title searches are also possible.

ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of over 400,000 images, and a good starting place to find botanical illustrations. For more information about this source, see the ARTstor tutorial.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that archives several journals of interest to the researcher of botanical illustration. It may be helpful to limit by the Art and Art History Discipline/Journals.

Art Full Text
Art Full Text is a database of full text articles searchable by keyword, etc. Its thesaurus includes the subject heading, "Botanical Illustration."

CAMIO
Research Libraries Group's (RLG) Catalog of Art Museum Images Online offers rights-cleared, high-quality art images for class projects, art history, and studio art programs, course Web sites, presentations, and research resources.

Bibliography of the History of Art
The most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) indexes and abstracts books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealer catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. Subjects covered are painting, sculpture, drawing, prints; decorative and applied arts; architecture and industrial design; popular and folk art. It includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor indexes, RAA-Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (1973-1989) and RILA-International Repertory of the Literature of Art (1975 to 1989).

USDA's PLANTS Image Gallery
"The PLANTS Gallery emphasizes photos and line drawings of U.S. plants but also contains many cultivated or foreign taxa...Search the Gallery by Artist, Image Location, State Distribution, Copyright Status, and more! Improved View and Sort options let you look at 15, 25, 50, or 100 thumbnail images per page. Best of all, synonym names are searched, too." (Source: USDA Website)

Mo Plants
A website dedicated to creative ideas for gifts and decorations using plants. The website has a free graphics gallery and also features an e-book titled Online Botanical Illustrations.