Hi, I am Head of UNC's Sloane Art Library and am happy to answer any questions you may have related to art, art history, architecture, and design. I enjoy talking with students and faculty about their research and creative projects. If you have any suggestions for new items to add to our collections, please let me know.
In general, I can:
If you are faculty or teach a course at UNC, I can also:
I have been an art and architecture librarian since 2001 and have been with UNC Libraries since 2008. My art-related research currently focuses on the management and preservation of visual artists' studio archives. As an artist, I have worked in a variety of media, namely printmaking, textiles, and ceramics.
BFA, Purchase College (SUNY)
MLIS, The University of Texas at Austin
IMLS Laura Bush 21st Century Librarian Grant (2014) Principal Investigator Awarded $497,320 for "Learning from Artists' Archives: Preparing Next Generation Art Information Professionals through Partnerships with North Carolina Artists' Archives". Program partners include UNC's Department of Art and the School of Information and Library Science, the University Libraries, the North Carolina Museum of Art, the Mint Museum of Art, and the Smithsonian Archives of American Art. Prepares students in the SILS MSLS/MSIS and MAH (Art History) Dual Degree program in the skills and subject expertise they will need to collect and steward contemporary visual artists' archives and related media-based artworks.
Artist Support Partners Grant, Joan Mitchell Foundation (2012) Awarded $12,500 for the project “Artists’ Studio Archives: Research & Publication” with partners Neal Ambrose-Smith (independent artist and consultant), Joan Beaudoin (School of Library and Information Science, Wayne State), and Eumie Imm-Stroukoff (Georgia O’Keefe Museum Library and Archive).
H.W. Wilson Foundation Research Award (ARLIS/NA), 2012 “Studio Archives: Voices of Living Artists, Their Assistants, and Archivists /Phase II: Artists Working in Digital and Video Media” was awarded $2,200.
UNC Chapel Hill – University Research Council, Small Grant (2009) Awarded $1,400 to cover the costs associated with an on-site interview at the studio of artist Cai Guo Qiang that explored issues related to the management of the artist’s archive and personal library.
Peer review editor, Art Documentation: Bulletin of the Art Libraries Society of North America, 2009-present.
Studio Archives: Voices of Living Artists, Their Assistants, and Archivists, presented with Eumie Imm-Stroukoff. Artists' Records in the Archives Symposium, Archivists Round Table of Metropolitan New York. October 11-12, 2011.
Paving the Way for an Uncertain Future: Teaching Art Information Management in the 21st Century (organizer of panel and speaker), 2011 VRA + ARLIS/NA Conference, Minneapolis, MN, March 27, 2011.
Fireworks, Fire Flowers, Gunpowder Drawings and Explosion Events – A View Into the Archive of Living Artist Cai Guo-Qiang (paper presented on the panel Documenting Now: Living Artists and their Archives) Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA) 38th Annual Conference, Boston, MA. April 24, 2010.