### Course Info. for MEJO: @ Wilson Library

Wilson Library has some wonderful primary material for your use, especially in the Southern Historical Collection (SHC). Here's what they have:

"... more than 16 million discrete original documents ... including, letters, diaries, maps, ledgers, oral histories, photographs, literary manuscripts, drawings, sound and moving image recordings, pamphlets, and printed ephemera." (according to http://www2.lib.unc.edu/mss/shc/instruction.html).

Further, the collection "...provides strong documentation of all periods of southern history and culture since the late eighteenth century. Topical strengths range widely, but especially prominent are plantation culture, the American Civil War, politics and political activism, race relations, religious experience, education, rural life, public health, southern writers, African American life, journalism, business, and family relations."

There are several options for discovering what is available at the SHC:

• Search the Finding Aids* using the Google search box on this page. Try a search for newspapers.
• Browse the Finding Aids* by alphabet 
• Contact Matt Turi, manuscripts reference librarian. Email: turi@email.unc.edu.

*What is a finding aid?

"...[a] description of a collection of archival material." At UNC, "[t]he finding aids ... describe collections held by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's Louis Round Wilson Special Collections Library. Unless otherwise noted, the online finding aid is the most detailed description of a collection."

More: http://www2.lib.unc.edu/mss/inv.html

Image from IconArchive.

Browse these lists of

• African American newspapers in North Carolina. Many are available on microfilm at Wilson Library's North Carolina Collection. Some available online.
   
• African American newspapers around the country available on microfilm at Davis Library. [link from the Wayback Machine, September 2015]

Everyone is welcome to use Wilson Library! Here's what to do if you want to use their resources:

• Go to Wilson Library's 2nd floor Reading Room.
• Fill out a registration form and present valid photo identification (ie, One Card). 
• Laptops, silenced cell phones, and digital cameras may be brought into the Reading Room; all other personal items, including cases for the above, must be secured in a locker at the Reading Room entrance.
• Beverages and food are not permitted in the Reading Room.

Here is additional information for researchers at Wilson Library.

Image from Wilson Library.

@ Wilson Library (North Carolina newspapers)

Microfilm reader/copiers are available in the second floor reading room. One microfilm reader is available in the fourth floor reading room. Read more about using Wilson Library.

@ Davis Library (national newspapers)

The Davis Library microforms collection is on the Lower Level of Davis Library. They have helpful staff to get microfilm reels for you & show you how to use them. Check their hours before going over to Davis.