### Course Info. for MEJO: (EBSCO) Boxes for reuse

1. Visit the UNC Flipster page at https://bit.ly/mejo-flipster on any device.

2. Locate the issue you want to read.

3. Click the thumbnail of the issue you want to read. It will load in another tab.

4. The issue’s front cover will display with a viewer tool panel for additional functionality.

5. If viewing on a smart phone, tablet or Kindle Fire, you can download issues to the Flipster App.

6. Click the ☰ button and “Open in App”.

7. If you don’t have the App, follow the link beneath “Open in App” to download.

8. Issues will remain in the App until you delete them from your session or they expire.

Link to search three EBSCO databases (Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Communication and Mass Media Complete)

URL:

https://login.libproxy.lib.unc.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph&defaultdb=buh&defaultdb=ufh

List of EBSCO "short names list" (aka database codes): https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/EBSCOhost-Database-Short-Names-List?language=en_US

Databases we use:

• Academic Search Premier: aph
• Business Source Complete: bth (April 01, 2019) buh
• Communication and Mass Media Complete: ufh
• Education Full Text: eft
• ERIC: eric
• Legal : lpb
• PsycINFO: psyh
• Women's Studies International: fyh

Enter the name of the interviewee in quotes: "Elvis Mitchell" or "Kevin Sites." Or enter a profession: "press secretary."

Search for interviews in three EBSCO databases: Academic Search Premier, Film & Television Literature Index, and Newspaper Source Plus.

Scholarly, trade, and popular article on health, psychology, and environmental topics.

Search several databases at once (Academic Search Premier, AMED, CINAHL, Environmental Source, and PsycINFO).

https://support.ebscohost.com/eit/sbb.php

use this container for longer boxes: https://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/59006/ebscobox.jpg

size = 429 (replace width: 300px with width: 429px)

change padding-left:204px; to padding-left:75px;

[original = https://support.ebscohost.com/images/logos/researchdatabases.gif ; size = 300px]

smaller box:

  https://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/libapps/accounts/6171/images/EBSCOBox-short.jpg

(Search Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, & Communication and Mass Media Complete together)

(Search Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, & Communication and Mass Media Complete together)

Use this to find scholarly articles for your research requirement if you choose to write two two-page summaries/critiques of academic research articles.

You may summarize any article published in the past two years in the following journals:

• Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly
• Journal of Advertising
• Journal of Mass Media Ethics
• Mass Communication and Society
• Journal of Public Relations Research
• Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media

Search for "JOURNAL NAME" and YOUR TOPIC
On the results page, limit to 2012-2013 on the left

Search for NAICS Codes (North American Industry Classification System) at the U.S. Census Bureau. Type in a term (like furniture) to see all the codes relating to furniture. Search many business databases by NAICS code.

What is a NAICS code?!  Numerical classification systems created by the United States government - like a library call number for industry.The codes group similar companies into industries for the purposes of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Is it really pronounced "Nakes"? Yes.

For the most recent U.S. government data about an industry, search the U.S. Census Bureau's Industry Statistics Portal by NAICS code.

Search multiple mainstream U.S. newspapers, including 

• Atlanta Constitution‎   (1868 - 1984)
• Baltimore Sun‎   (1837 - 1996) 
• Boston Globe‎ (1872 - 1990)
• Chicago Tribune‎   (1849 - present)
• Los Angeles Times‎  (1881 - present)
• Louisville Courier Journal (1830-present)‎
• Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922)‎
• New York Times‎   (1851 - present)  
• San Francisco Chronicle‎   (1865 - 1922) 
• Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2004)
• Washington Post (1877 - present) 

Search 11 African American newspapers, including:

• Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)*
• Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)*
• Chicago Defender (1909-1975)*
• Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991)*
• Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 - 2005)*
• Michigan Chronicle (1939 - 2010)*
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)*
• Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916 - 2003)*
• Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)*

(Search Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, & Communication and Mass Media Complete together)

(Search Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, & Communication and Mass Media Complete together)