Over 13,000 NBC News video clips in all areas & time periods. Includes newsreels from the 1940s, coverage of the Nuremberg War Crimes Trial, coverage of the first day of school in Little Rock in 1957, an interview with Eleanor Roosevelt from 1959.
America, History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries. The database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals. America: History and Life on the Web also includes in-process English-language article entries (those entries for which abstract, subject terms, and chronologies are not yet available) prior to their completion and inclusion in the print and CD-ROM versions. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and Canadian history and related fields. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. Each entry in the database is assigned appropriate indexing terms based on standard authorities. Every year approximately 16,000 new entries are added to the America: History and Life database. (Source: vendor website.)
Best used with Internet Explorer or Firefox. Maximum of 6 users at a time.
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)/Daily Defender (1956-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1989)
Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)
Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)
Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1989)
Louisville Courier-Journal (1830-1922)
Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times (1851 to 2 or 3 years ago)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Washington Post (1877 to 1995)
Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1995).
Search hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles. Includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements. Historical photos, graphics, and advertisements are also included. Display the complete image of any page in any issue or browse the database to scan individual issues page by page.