City & Regional Planning Research Guide: Land Use & Environment
This guide highlights city & regional planning resources available from the University Library.
Article Databases - Land Use & Environmental Planning
- AGRICOLAThe National Agriculture Library Catalog provides citations to literature in agriculture and allied disciplines, including veterinary sciences, entomology, aquaculture and fisheries, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences. Site does not contain full text articles.
- ECOTOX: Ecotoxicology Database
- Resource for locating single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife
- Created by the US Environmental Protection Agency Office of Research and Development (ORD)
- Site integrates three former resources; AQUIRE, PHYTOTOX, and TERRETOX
- Site strongly states that data found in its database should be checked against original work to understand context and ensure accurate understanding
- Limitations section further details for what is not included in resource
- Environment CompleteJournals on topics including agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.
- GEOBASECovers worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology, and related disciplines. Over 2,000 journals are fully covered, and an additional 3,000 are selectively covered. More than 2,000 books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports are also covered.
Subjects include: cartography, hydrology, climatology, meteorology, energy, paleontology, environment, petrology, geochemistry, photogrammetry, geomorphology, sedimentology, geophysics, volcanology. (Source: vendor website.) - GeoRef
- The American Geological Institute database of geoscience literature world-wide
- Articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and, theses
- Includes references to all publications of the US Geological Survey
- Includes Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities
- Homeland Security Digital LibraryProvides access to U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.
- National Transportation Library (NTL)Repository of documents and databases related to transportation from public and private organizations around the country.
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
UNC Catalog Search with Links
Selected Electronic Journals for Environmental Planning
Note: This links to a list of electronic journals. To find print journals, use the library catalog advanced search. Select "Journals, Magazines, and Serials" from the "Format" pull-down menu and then search by "Keywords" or by "Words in Journal Title."
Connect with us
