Thousands of pages of materials provide scholars and students with in-depth access to the published histories and records of women's organizations throughout the United States. It also has documented projects on a broad range of topics of interest to today's students, each including footnotes to introductory material, annotations of primary documents, a bibliography, and a list of related Web links. This database has a powerful full-text search engine that provides in-depth access to its content.
An interdisciplinary database covering women's issues worldwide. Women's Studies International is an interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1972-present), Women's Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-1995), The History of Women and Science, Health, and Technology: A Bibliographic Guide to the Professions and Disciplines (1970-1995), Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography (1995), Women, Race, and Ethnicity: A Bibliography (1970-1990), WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies (1985-1990), and POPLINE Subset on Women (1964-present). NISC will add new databases as they become available.
It employs a powerful search engine combined with a user-friendly interface to enable retrieval of detailed archival collection descriptions (bibliographic records and full finding aids). ArchiveGrid allows users to discover information about primary source materials - both personal papers and corporate records - faster and easier than is possible in general search engines on the web, eliminating, the need to sort through inappropriate results and presenting a consolidated hit list that clearly indicates in which repository materials are held.
America, History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises almost 400,000 bibliographic entries. The database covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. In addition to covering all key English-language historical journals, America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals. America: History and Life on the Web also includes in-process English-language article entries (those entries for which abstract, subject terms, and chronologies are not yet available) prior to their completion and inclusion in the print and CD-ROM versions. In addition to articles, each year America: History and Life includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and Canadian history and related fields. The database also includes citations to abstracts of dissertations published in these areas. Each entry in the database is assigned appropriate indexing terms based on standard authorities. Every year approximately 16,000 new entries are added to the America: History and Life database. (Source: vendor website.)
Best used with Internet Explorer or Firefox. Maximum of 6 users at a time.
GenderWatch (enlarging the scope of Women 'R') is a full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. The database provides coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's daily lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure. GenderWatch contains a significant body of archival material dating back to the mid 1970's. Additional archival material continues to be added, making GenderWatch a repository of information providing an historical perspective on the evolution of women's and gender issues over the last fifteen to twenty years. (Source: vendor website.)