Geological Sciences: Handbooks, Data & Protocols

Handbooks

Environmental Geology: Handbook of Field Methods and Case Studies [online]
This handbook describes a broad spectrum of methods in the fields of remote sensing, geophysics, geology, hydrogeology, geochemistry, and microbiology designed to investigate landfill, mining and industrial sites
Geologic Guidebooks of North America
The database consists of references to geologic field trip guidebooks of North America. Most of the guidebooks cited are from the period 1940-1988
Handbook of Geomathematics [online]
This reference work provides general summaries of major topics in geomathematics: observational and measurement key technologies; modelling of the system Earth; analytic, algebraic, and operator-theoretic methods; statistical and stochastic methods; computational and numerical analysis methods; historical background, and future perspectives.

MSDS plus CHEMINFO
A searchable database of Materials Safety Data Sheets and properties of common chemicals.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Finding Data

These are just a few of the resources you can use to locate research data. Guidelines for citing data sets vary; see specific data resources for more information about citations.

Fossilworks (Paleobiology Database)The search interface for the Paleobiology Database of fossil data, maintained by Macquarie University.

North Carolina Geological Survey
Publications, maps and data from the NC Geological Survey.

National Geologic Map Database
View and download historical and current geologic maps and data from the USGS.

National Geophysical Data Center
Reliable geologic and environmental datasets provided by the NOAA.

USGS Public Data
Publicly available USGS geospatial data from many sources including maps, aerial photographs, and remote sensors, as well as a list public-domain software for research and mapping activities.

State Geological Surveys
The American Association of State Geologists maintains a list of each U.S. state's geological surveys.

Web Soil Survey
Data provided by the USDA.

Databib
Databib is a search tool to aid identification of data repositories for data submission and reuse. It has records for hundreds of data repositories worldwide, and can be searched by title or description.